表属性

表属性是 TiDB 从 5.3.0 版本开始引入的新特性,用于为表或分区添加特定的属性,以对表或分区执行相应属性对应的操作,例如可以利用表属性控制 Region 的合并。

注意
  • 目前 TiDB 仅支持为表或分区添加 merge_option 属性,用于控制 Region 合并。该属性仅能处理部分热点问题。如需了解更多的热点问题处理相关内容,请参阅 TiDB 热点问题处理
  • 当使用 TiDB Binlog 或 TiCDC 进行同步或者使用 BR 进行增量备份时,同步和备份会跳过设置表属性的 DDL 语句。如需在下游或者备份集群使用表属性,需要在下游或者备份集群手动执行该 DDL 语句以设置表属性。
  • TiDB v5.4.0 不支持 Index Region。有关 Index Region 的具体信息可以参考 Split Index Region
  • 在 TiDB v5.4.0 中,添加表属性仅对已存在的分区生效。如需在添加表属性后新增分区或删除分区,你需要重新设置表属性。有关重新设置表属性的方法可以参考表属性的使用方法

使用方法

表属性为 key=value 的形式,多个属性需要用逗号分隔。具体示例如下,其中 t 为所要修改的表名,p 为所要修改的分区名,[]内部为可选项。

  • 设置表或分区属性

    ALTER TABLE t [PARTITION p] ATTRIBUTES [=] 'key=value[, key1=value1...]';
    
  • 重置表或分区属性

    ALTER TABLE t [PARTITION p] ATTRIBUTES [=] DEFAULT;
    
  • 查看全部表及分区属性

    SELECT * FROM information_schema.attributes;
    
  • 查看某一张表或分区配置的属性

    SELECT * FROM information_schema.attributes WHERE id='schema/t[/p]';
    
  • 查看拥有某属性的所有表及分区

    SELECT * FROM information_schema.attributes WHERE attributes LIKE '%key%';
    

覆盖关系

为分区表配置的属性会对表的所有分区生效。一种例外情况是,如果分区表和分区都配置了相同属性但属性值不同,分区属性将覆盖分区表属性。例如,当分区表 t 配置属性 key=value,同时分区 p 配置属性 key=value1 时:

ALTER TABLE t ATTRIBUTES[=]'key=value';
ALTER TABLE t PARTITION p ATTRIBUTES[=]'key=value1';

分区 p 实际生效的属性为 key=value1

使用表属性控制 Region 合并

使用场景

当写入或读取数据存在热点时,可以使用表属性控制 Region 合并,通过为表或分区添加 merge_option 属性,将其设置为 deny 来解决。以下介绍了两种使用场景。

新建表或分区的写入热点问题

在对某张新建表或某个新建分区写入数据存在热点问题时,通常需要使用分裂打散 Region 的操作避免写入热点,但由于新建表或分区的分裂操作实际产生的是空 Region,如果分裂打散操作距离写入存在一定时间间隔,则 Region 可能会被合并,从而导致无法真正规避写入热点问题。此时可以为表或分区添加 merge_option 属性,设置为 deny 来解决问题。

只读场景下周期性读热点问题

在只读场景下,如果是通过手动分裂 Region 缓解某张表或分区的周期性读热点问题,且不希望热点消失后手动分裂的 Region 被合并。此时可以为表或分区添加 merge_option 属性,设置为 deny 来解决问题。

使用方法

使用方法如下,其中 t 为所要修改的表名,p 为所要修改的分区名。

  • 禁止属于某个表的 Region 被合并

    ALTER TABLE t ATTRIBUTES 'merge_option=deny';
    
  • 允许属于某个表的 Region 被合并

    ALTER TABLE t ATTRIBUTES 'merge_option=allow';
    
  • 重置某个表的属性

    ALTER TABLE t ATTRIBUTES DEFAULT;
    
  • 禁止属于某个分区的 Region 被合并

    ALTER TABLE t PARTITION p ATTRIBUTES 'merge_option=deny';
    
  • 允许属于某个分区的 Region 被合并

    ALTER TABLE t PARTITION p attributes 'merge_option=allow';
    
  • 查看所有配置了 merge_option 属性的表或分区

    SELECT * FROM information_schema.attributes WHERE attributes LIKE '%merge_option%';
    

覆盖关系

ALTER TABLE t ATTRIBUTES 'merge_option=deny';
ALTER TABLE t PARTITION p ATTRIBUTES 'merge_option=allow';

同时配置上述两个属性时,实际分区 p 的 Region 可以被合并。当分区的属性被重置时,分区 p 则会继承表 t 的属性,Region 无法被合并。

注意
  • 如果目前只存在分区表的属性,即使配置 merge_option=allow,分区也会默认按照实际分区数量切分成多个 Region。如需合并所有 Region,则需要重置该分区表的属性
  • 使用该属性需要注意 PD 的参数 split-merge-interval 的配置。如果没有配置 merge_option,Region 在超过 split-merge-interval 指定的时间后满足条件即可合并。如果配置了 merge_option,则超过指定时间后会根据 merge_option 的配置情况再决定是否可以合并。
文档内容是否有帮助?

Table Attributes

The Table Attributes feature is introduced in TiDB v5.3.0. Using this feature, you can add specific attributes to a table or partition to perform the operations corresponding to the attributes. For example, you can use table attributes to control the Region merge behavior.

Note
  • Currently, TiDB only supports adding the merge_option attribute to a table or partition to control the Region merge behavior. The merge_option attribute is only part of how to deal with hotspots. For more information, refer to Troubleshoot Hotspot Issues.
  • When you use TiDB Binlog or TiCDC to perform replication or use BR to perform incremental backup, the replication or backup operations skip the DDL statement that sets table attributes. To use table attributes in the downstream or in the backup cluster, you need to manually execute the DDL statement in the downstream or in the backup cluster.
  • TiDB v5.4.0 does not support Index Region. For details of Index Region, refer to Split Index Region.
  • In TiDB v5.4.0, adding table attributes only takes effect on existing partitions. To add or delete partitions after adding table attributes, you need to reset table attributes. For detailed methods, see How to use table attributes.

Usage

The table attribute is in the form of key=value. Multiple attributes are separated by commas. In the following examples, t is the name of the table to be modified, p is the name of the partition to be modified. Items in [] are optional.

  • Set attributes for a table or partition:

    ALTER TABLE t [PARTITION p] ATTRIBUTES [=] 'key=value[, key1=value1...]';
    
  • Reset attributes for a table or partition:

    ALTER TABLE t [PARTITION p] ATTRIBUTES [=] DEFAULT;
    
  • See the attributes of all tables and partitions:

    SELECT * FROM information_schema.attributes;
    
  • See the attribute configured to a table or partition:

    SELECT * FROM information_schema.attributes WHERE id='schema/t[/p]';
    
  • See all tables and partitions that have a specific attribute:

    SELECT * FROM information_schema.attributes WHERE attributes LIKE '%key%';
    

Attribute override rules

The attribute configured to a table takes effect on all partitions of the table. However, there is one exception: If the table and partition are configured with the same attribute but different attribute values, the partition attribute overrides the table attribute. For example, suppose that the table t is configured with the key=value attribute, and the partition p is configured with key=value1.

ALTER TABLE t ATTRIBUTES[=]'key=value';
ALTER TABLE t PARTITION p ATTRIBUTES[=]'key=value1';

In this case, key=value1 is the attribute that actually takes effect on the p1 partition.

Control the Region merge behavior using table attributes

User scenarios

If there is a write hotspot or read hotspot, you can use table attributes to control the Region merge behavior. You can first add the merge_option attribute to a table or partition and then set its value to deny. The two scenarios are as follows.

Write hotspot on a newly created table or partition

If a hotspot issue occurs when data is written to a newly created table or partition, you usually need to split and scatter Regions. However, if there is a certain time interval between the split/scatter operation and writes, these operations do not truly avoid the write hotspot. This is because the split operation performed when the table or partition is created produces empty Regions, so if the time interval exists, the split Regions might be merged. To handle this case, you can add the merge_option attribute to the table or partition and set the attribute value to deny.

Periodic read hotspot in read-only scenarios

Suppose that in a read-only scenario, you try to reduce the periodic read hotspot that occurs on a table or partition by manually splitting Regions, and you do not want the manually split Regions to be merged after the hotspot issue is resolved. In this case, you can add the merge_option attribute to the table or partition and set its value to deny.

Usage

  • Prevent the Regions of a table from merging:

    ALTER TABLE t ATTRIBUTES 'merge_option=deny';
    
  • Allow merging Regions belonging to a table:

    ALTER TABLE t ATTRIBUTES 'merge_option=allow';
    
  • Reset attributes of a table:

    ALTER TABLE t ATTRIBUTES DEFAULT;
    
  • Prevent the Regions of a partition from merging:

    ALTER TABLE t PARTITION p ATTRIBUTES 'merge_option=deny';
    
  • Allow merging Regions belonging to a partition:

    ALTER TABLE t PARTITION p ATTRIBUTES 'merge_option=allow';
    
  • See all tables or partitions configured the merge_option attribution:

    SELECT * FROM information_schema.attributes WHERE attributes LIKE '%merge_option%';
    

Attribute override rules

ALTER TABLE t ATTRIBUTES 'merge_option=deny';
ALTER TABLE t PARTITION p ATTRIBUTES 'merge_option=allow';

When the above two attributes are configured at the same time, the Regions belonging to the partition p can actually be merged. When the attribute of the partition is reset, the partition p inherits the attribute from the table t, and the Regions cannot be merged.

Note
  • When there is now only an attribute of a partition, even if the merge_option=allow attribute is configured, the partition is still split into multiple Regions by default according to the actual number of partitions. To merge all Regions, you need to reset the attribute of the table.
  • When using the merge_option attribute, you need to pay attention to the PD configuration parameter split-merge-interval. Suppose that the merge_option attribute is not configured. In this case, if Regions meet conditions, Regions can be merged after the interval specified by split-merge-interval. If the merge_option attribute is configured, PD decides whether to merge Regions after the specified interval according to the merge_option configuration.
Was this page helpful?