TiDB Lightning 分布式并行导入

TiDB Lightning 的 Local 后端模式从 v5.3.0 版本开始支持单表或多表数据的并行导入。通过支持同步启动多个实例,并行导入不同的单表或多表的不同数据,使 TiDB Lightning 具备水平扩展的能力,可大大降低导入大量数据所需的时间。

在技术实现上,TiDB Lightning 通过在目标 TiDB 中记录各个实例以及每个导入表导入数据的元信息,协调不同实例的 Row ID 分配范围、全局 Checksum 的记录和 TiKV 及 PD 的配置变更与恢复。

TiDB Lightning 并行导入可以用于以下场景:

  • 并行导入分库分表的数据。在该场景中,来自上游多个数据库实例中的多个表,分别由不同的 TiDB Lightning 实例并行导入到下游 TiDB 数据库中。
  • 并行导入单表的数据。在该场景中,存放在某个目录中或云存储(如 Amazon S3)中的多个单表文件,分别由不同的 TiDB Lightning 实例并行导入到下游 TiDB 数据库中。该功能为 v5.3.0 版本引入的新功能。
注意

并行导入只支持初始化 TiDB 的空表,不支持导入数据到已有业务写入的数据表,否则可能会导致数据不一致的情况。

下图展示了并行导入分库分表的工作流程。在该场景中,你可以使用多个 TiDB Lightning 实例导入 MySQL 的分表到下游的 TiDB 集群。

并行导入分库分表

下图展示了并行导入单表的工作流程。在该场景中,你可以使用多个 TiDB Lightning 实例,将单个表中的数据拆分后,并行导入到下游的 TiDB 集群。

并行导入单表

使用说明

使用 TiDB Lightning 并行导入无须额外配置。TiDB Lightning 在启动时,会在下游 TiDB 中注册元信息,并自动检测是否有其他实例向目标集群导入数据。如果有,则自动进入并行导入模式。

但是在并行导入时,需要注意以下情况:

  • 解决主键或者唯一索引的冲突
  • 导入性能优化

解决主键或者唯一索引的冲突

在使用 Local 后端模式并行导入时,需要确保多个 TiDB Lightning 的数据源之间,以及它们和 TiDB 的目标表中的数据没有主键或者唯一索引的冲突,并且导入的目标表不能有其他应用进行数据写入。否则,TiDB Lightning 将无法保证导入结果的正确性,并且导入完成后相关的数据表将处于数据索引不一致的状态。

导入性能优化

由于 TiDB Lightning 需要将生成的 Key-Value 数据上传到对应 Region 的每一个副本所在的 TiKV 节点,其导入速度受目标集群规模的限制。在通常情况下,建议确保目标 TiDB 集群中的 TiKV 实例数量与 TiDB Lightning 的实例数量大于 n:1 (n 为 Region 的副本数量)。同时,在使用 TiDB Lightning 并行导入模式时,为达到最优性能,建议进行如下限制:

  • 每个 TiDB Lightning 实例导入的源文件总大小不超过 5 TiB
  • TiDB Lightning 实例的总数量不超过 10 个

在使用 TiDB Lightning 并行导入分库分表数据的时候,请根据数据量大小选择使用的 TiDB Lightning 实例数量。

  • 如果 MySQL 数据量小于 2 TiB,可以使用 1 个 TiDB Lightning 实例进行并行导入
  • 如果 MySQL 数据量超过 2 TiB,并且 MySQL 实例总数小于 10 个,建议每个 MySQL 实例对应 1 个 TiDB Lightning 实例,而且并行 TiDB Lightning 实例数量不要超过 10 个
  • 如果 MySQL 数据量超过 2 TiB,并且 MySQL 实例总数超过 10 个,建议这些 MySQL 实例导出的数据平均分配 5 到 10 个 TiDB Lightning 实例进行导入

接下来,本文档将以两个并行导入的示例,详细介绍了不同场景下并行导入的操作步骤:

  • 示例 1:使用 Dumpling + TiDB Lightning 并行导入分库分表数据至 TiDB
  • 示例 2:使用 TiDB Lightning 并行导入单表数据

示例 1:使用 Dumpling + TiDB Lightning 并行导入分库分表数据至 TiDB

在本示例中,假设上游为包含 10 个分表的 MySQL 集群,总共大小为 10 TiB。使用 5 个 TiDB Lightning 实例并行导入,每个实例导入 2 TiB 数据,预计可以将总导入时间(不包含 Dumpling 导出的耗时)由约 40 小时降至约 10 小时。

假设上游的库名为 my_db,每个分表的名字为 my_table_01 ~ my_table_10,需要合并导入至下游的 my_db.my_table 表中。下面介绍具体的操作步骤。

第 1 步:使用 Dumpling 导出数据

在部署 TiDB Lightning 的 5 个节点上面分别导出两个分表的数据:

  • 如果两个分表位于同一个 MySQL 实例中,可以直接使用 Dumpling 的 -f 参数一次性导出。此时在使用 TiDB Lightning 导入时,指定 data-source-dir 为 Dumpling 数据导出的目录即可;
  • 如果两个分表的数据分布在不同的 MySQL 节点上,则需要使用 Dumpling 分别导出,两次导出数据需要放置在同一父目录下不同子目录里,然后在使用 TiDB Lightning 导入时,data-source-dir 指定为此父级目录。

使用 Dumpling 导出数据的步骤,请参考 Dumpling

第 2 步:配置 TiDB Lightning 的数据源

创建 tidb-lightning.toml 配置文件,并加入如下内容:

[lightning]
status-addr = ":8289"

[mydumper]
# 设置为 Dumpling 导出数据的路径,如果 Dumpling 执行了多次并分属不同的目录,请将多次导出的数据置放在相同的父目录下并指定此父目录即可。
data-source-dir = "/path/to/source-dir"

[tikv-importer]
# 使用 Local 后端
backend = "local"

# 设置本地排序数据的路径
sorted-kv-dir = "/path/to/sorted-dir"

# 设置分库分表合并规则
[[routes]]
schema-pattern = "my_db"
table-pattern = "my_table_*"
target-schema = "my_db"
target-table = "my_table"

如果数据源存放在 Amazon S3 或 GCS 等分布式存储缓存,请参考外部存储

第 3 步:开启 TiDB Lightning 进行数据导入

在使用 TiDB Lightning 并行导入时,对每个 TiDB Lightning 节点机器配置的需求与非并行导入模式相同,每个 TiDB Lightning 节点需要消耗相同的资源,建议部署在不同的机器上。详细的部署步骤,请参考 TiDB Lightning 部署与执行

依次在每台机器上面运行 TiDB Lightning。如果直接在命令行中用 nohup 启动程序,可能会因为 SIGHUP 信号而退出,建议把 nohup 放到脚本里面,如:

# !/bin/bash
nohup ./tidb-lightning -config tidb-lightning.toml > nohup.out &

在并行导入的场景下,TiDB Lightning 在启动任务之后,会自动进行下列检查:

  • 检查本地盘空间以及 TiKV 集群是否有足够空间导入数据。检查时会对数据源进行采样,通过采样结果预估索引大小占比。由于估算中考虑了索引,因此可能会出现尽管数据源大小低于本地盘可用空间,但依然无法通过检测的情况。
  • 检查 TiKV 集群的 region 分布是否均匀,以及是否存在大量空 region,如果空 region 的数量大于 max(1000, 表的数量 * 3) ,即大于 “1000” 和 “3 倍表数量”二者中的最大者,则无法执行导入。
  • 检查数据源导入数据是否有序,并且根据检查结果自动调整 mydumper.batch-size 的大小。因此 mydumper.batch-size 配置不再对用户开放。

你也可以通过 lightning.check-requirements 配置来关闭检查,执行强制导入。更多详细检查内容,可以查看 Lightning 执行前检查项

第 4 步:查看进度

开始导入后,可以通过以下任意方式查看进度:

  • 通过 grep 日志关键字 progress 查看进度,默认 5 分钟更新一次。
  • 通过监控面板查看进度。详情请参见 TiDB Lightning 监控

等待所有的 TiDB Lightning 运行结束,则整个导入完成。

示例 2:使用 TiDB Lightning 并行导入单表数据

TiDB Lightning 也支持并行导入单表的数据。例如,将存放在 Amazon S3 中的多个单表文件,分别由不同的 TiDB Lightning 实例并行导入到下游 TiDB 数据库中。该方法可以加快整体导入速度。关于更多远端存储信息,请参考 TiDB Lightning 支持的远端存储

注意

在本地环境下,可以使用 Dumpling 的 --where 参数,预先将单表的数据划分成不同的部分导出至多台机器的本地磁盘,此时依然可以使用并行导入功能,其配置与示例 1 相同。

假设通过 Dumpling 导出的源文件存放在 Amazon S3 云存储中,数据文件为 my_db.my_table.00001.sql ~ my_db.my_table.10000.sql 共计 10000 个 SQL 文件。如果希望使用 2 个 TiDB Lightning 实例加速导入,则需要在配置文件中增加如下设置:

[[mydumper.files]]
# db schema 文件
pattern = '(?i)^(?:[^/]*/)*my_db-schema-create\.sql'
schema = "my_db"
type = "schema-schema"

[[mydumper.files]]
# table schema 文件
pattern = '(?i)^(?:[^/]*/)*my_db\.my_table-schema\.sql'
schema = "my_db"
table = "my_table"
type = "table-schema"

[[mydumper.files]]
# 只导入 00001~05000 这些数据文件并忽略其他文件
pattern = '(?i)^(?:[^/]*/)*my_db\.my_table\.(0[0-4][0-9][0-9][0-9]|05000)\.sql'
schema = "my_db"
table = "my_table"
type = "sql"

另外一个实例的配置修改为只导入 05001 ~ 10000 数据文件即可。

其他步骤请参考示例 1 中的相关步骤。

文档内容是否有帮助?

Use TiDB Lightning to Import Data in Parallel

Since v5.3.0, the Local-backend mode of TiDB Lightning supports the parallel import of a single table or multiple tables. By simultaneously running multiple TiDB Lightning instances, you can import data in parallel from different single tables or multiple tables. In this way, TiDB Lightning provides the ability to scale horizontally, which can greatly reduce the time required to import large amounts of data.

In technical implementation, TiDB Lightning records the meta data of each instance and the data of each imported table in the target TiDB, and coordinates the Row ID allocation range of different instances, the record of global Checksum, and the configuration changes and recovery of TiKV and PD.

You can use TiDB Lightning to import data in parallel in the following scenarios:

  • Import sharded schemas and sharded tables. In this scenario, multiple tables from multiple upstream database instances are imported into the downstream TiDB database by different TiDB Lightning instances in parallel.
  • Import single tables in parallel. In this scenario, single tables stored in a certain directory or cloud storage (such as Amazon S3) are imported into the downstream TiDB cluster by different TiDB Lightning instances in parallel. This is a new feature introduced in TiDB 5.3.0.

Note:

Parallel import only supports the initialized empty tables in TiDB. It does not support migrating data to tables with data written by existing services. Otherwise, data inconsistencies may occur.

The following diagram shows how importing sharded schemas and sharded tables works. In this scenario, you can use multiple TiDB Lightning instances to import MySQL sharded tables to a downstream TiDB cluster.

Import sharded schemas and sharded tables

The following diagram shows how importing single tables works. In this scenario, you can use multiple TiDB Lightning instances to split data from a single table and import it in parallel to a downstream TiDB cluster.

Import single tables

Considerations

No additional configuration is required for parallel import using TiDB Lightning. When TiDB Lightning is started, it registers meta data in the downstream TiDB cluster and automatically detects whether there are other instances migrating data to the target cluster at the same time. If there is, it automatically enters the parallel import mode.

But when migrating data in parallel, you need to take the following into consideration:

  • Handle conflicts between primary keys or unique indexes across multiple sharded tables
  • Optimize import performance

Handle conflicts between primary keys or unique indexes

When using Local-backend mode to import in parallel, you need to ensure that there are no primary key or unique index conflicts between data sources, and between the tables in the target TiDB cluster. Ensure that there are no data writes in the target table during import. Otherwise, TiDB Lightning will not be able to guarantee the correctness of the imported data, and the target table will contain inconsistent indexes after the import is completed.

Optimize import performance

Because TiDB Lightning needs to upload the generated Key-Value data to the TiKV node where each copy of the corresponding Region is located, the import speed is limited by the size of the target cluster. It is recommended to ensure that the number of TiKV instances in the target TiDB cluster and the number of TiDB Lightning instances are greater than n:1 (n is the number of copies of the Region). At the same time, you need to meet the following requirements to achieve the optimal import performance:

  • The total size of source files for each TiDB Lightning instances performing parallel import should be smaller than 5 TiB
  • The total number of TiDB Ligntning instances should be smaller than 10

When using TiDB Lightning to import shared databases and tables in parallel, choose an appropriate number of TiDB Lightning instances according to the amount of data.

  • If the MySQL data volume is less than 2 TiB, you can use one TiDB Lightning instance for parallel import.
  • If the MySQL data volume exceeds 2 TiB and the total number of MySQL instance is smaller than 10, it is recommended that you use one TiDB Lightning instance for each MySQL instance, and the number of parallel TiDB Lightning instances should not exceed 10.
  • If the MySQL data volume exceeds 2 TiB and the total number of MySQL instance exceeds 10, it is recommended that you allocate 5 to 10 TiDB Lightning instances for importing the data exported by these MySQL instances.

Next, this document uses two examples to detail the operation steps of parallel import in different scenarios:

  • Example 1: Use Dumpling + TiDB Lightning to import sharded databases and tables into TiDB in parallel
  • Example 2: Import single tables in parallel

Example 1: Use Dumpling + TiDB Lightning to Import Sharded Databases and Tables into TiDB in Parallel

In this example, assume that the upstream is a MySQL cluster with 10 sharded tables, with a total size of 10 TiB. You can Use 5 TiDB Lightning instances to perform parallel import, and each instance imports 2 TiB. It is estimated that the total import time (excluding the time required for Dumpling export) can be reduced from about 40 hours to about 10 hours.

Assume that the upstream library is named my_db, and the name of each sharded table is my_table_01 ~ my_table_10. You want to merge and import them into the downstream my_db.my_table table. The specific steps are described in the following sections.

Step 1: Use Dumpling to export data

Export two sharded tables on the 5 nodes where TiDB Lightning is deployed:

  • If the two sharded tables are in the same MySQL instance, you can use the -f parameter of Dumpling to directly export them. When using TiDB Lightning to import, you can specify data-source-dir as the directory where Dumpling exports data to;
  • If the data of the two sharded tables are distributed on different MySQL nodes, you need to use Dumpling to separately export them. The exported data needs to be placed in the same parent directory but in different sub-directories. When using TiDB Lightning to perform parallel import, you need to specify data-source-dir as the parent directory.

For more information on how to use Dumpling to export data, see Dumpling.

Step 2: Configure TiDB Lightning data sources

Create a configuration file tidb-lightning.toml, and then add the following content:

[lightning]
status-addr = ":8289"

[mydumper]
# Specify the path for Dumpling to export data. If Dumpling performs several times and the data belongs to different directories, you can place all the exported data in the same parent directory and specify this parent directory here.
data-source-dir = "/path/to/source-dir"

[tikv-importer]
# Use the Local backend mode.
backend = "local"

# Specify the path for local sorting data.
sorted-kv-dir = "/path/to/sorted-dir"

# Specify the routes for shard schemas and tables.
[[routes]]
schema-pattern = "my_db"
table-pattern = "my_table_*"
target-schema = "my_db"
target-table = "my_table"

If the data source is stored in a distributed storage cache such as Amazon S3 or GCS, see External Storages.

Step 3: Start TiDB Lightning to import data

During parallel import, the server configuration requirements for each TiDB Lightning node are the same as the non-parallel import mode. Each TiDB Lightning node needs to consume the same resources. It is recommended to deploy them on different servers. For detailed deployment steps, see Deploy TiDB Lightning.

Start TiDB Lightning on each server in turn. If you use nohup to directly start it from the command line, it might exit due to the SIGHUP signal. So it is recommended to put nohup in the script, for example:

# !/bin/bash
nohup ./tidb-lightning -config tidb-lightning.toml > nohup.out &

During parallel import, TiDB Lightning automatically performs the following checks after starting the task.

  • Check whether there is enough space on the local disk and on the TiKV cluster for importing data. TiDB Lightning samples the data sources and estimates the percentage of the index size from the sample result. Because indexes are included in the estimation, there may be cases where the size of the source data is less than the available space on the local disk, but still the check fails.
  • Check whether the regions in the TiKV cluster are distributed evenly and whether there are too many empty regions. If the number of empty regions exceeds max(1000, number of tables * 3), i.e. greater than the bigger one of "1000" or "3 times the number of tables ", then the import cannot be executed.
  • Check whether the data is imported in order from the data sources. The size of mydumper.batch-size is automatically adjusted based on the result of the check. Therefore, the mydumper.batch-size configuration is no longer available.

You can also turn off the check and perform a forced import with the lightning.check-requirements configuration. For more detailed checks, see TiDB Lightning prechecks

Step 4: Check the import progress

After starting the import, you can check the progress in either of the following ways:

  • Check the progress through the grep log keyword progress. It is updated every 5 minutes by default.
  • Check the progress through the monitoring console. For details, see TiDB Lightning Monitoring.

Wait for all TiDB Lightning instances to finish, then the entire import is completed.

Example 2: Import single tables in parallel

TiDB Lightning also supports parallel import of single tables. For example, import multiple single tables stored in Amazon S3 by different TiDB Lightning instances into the downstream TiDB cluster in parallel. This method can speed up the overall import speed. For more information on external storages, see External Storages).

Note:

In the local environment, you can use the --where parameter of Dumpling to divide the data of a single table into different parts and export it to the local disks of multiple servers in advance. This way, you can still perform parallel import. The configuration is the same as Example 1.

Assuming that the source files are stored in Amazon S3, the table files are my_db.my_table.00001.sql ~ my_db.my_table.10000.sql, a total of 10,000 SQL files. If you want to use 2 TiDB Lightning instances to speed up the import, you need to add the following settings in the configuration file:

[[mydumper.files]]
# the db schema file
pattern = '(?i)^(?:[^/]*/)*my_db-schema-create\.sql'
schema = "my_db"
type = "schema-schema"

[[mydumper.files]]
# the table schema file
pattern = '(?i)^(?:[^/]*/)*my_db\.my_table-schema\.sql'
schema = "my_db"
table = "my_table"
type = "table-schema"

[[mydumper.files]]
# Only import 00001~05000 and ignore other files
pattern = '(?i)^(?:[^/]*/)*my_db\.my_table\.(0[0-4][0-9][0-9][0-9]|05000)\.sql'
schema = "my_db"
table = "my_table"
type = "sql"

You can modify the configuration of the other instance to only import the 05001 ~ 10000 data files.

For other steps, see the relevant steps in Example 1.