文档目录

TiDB 悲观事务模型

为了使 TiDB 的使用方式更加贴近传统数据库,降低用户迁移的成本,TiDB 自 v3.0 版本开始在乐观事务模型的基础上支持了悲观事务模型。本文将介绍 TiDB 悲观事务的相关特性。

注意:

自 v3.0.8 开始,新创建的 TiDB 集群默认使用悲观事务模型。但如果从 v3.0.7 版本及之前创建的集群升级到 >= v3.0.8 的版本,则不会改变默认的事务模型,即只有新创建的集群才会默认使用悲观事务模型

事务模式的修改方法

你可以使用 tidb_txn_mode 系统变量设置事务模式。执行以下命令,即可使整个集群中所有新创建 session 执行的所有显示事务(即非 autocommit 的事务)进入悲观事务模式:

SET GLOBAL tidb_txn_mode = 'pessimistic';

除此之外,还可以执行以下 SQL 语句显式地开启悲观事务:

BEGIN PESSIMISTIC;
BEGIN /*T! PESSIMISTIC */;

BEGIN PESSIMISTIC;BEGIN OPTIMISTIC; 等语句的优先级高于 tidb_txn_mode 系统变量。使用这两个语句开启的事务,会忽略系统变量,从而支持悲观、乐观事务混合使用。

悲观事务模式的行为

悲观事务的行为和 MySQL 基本一致(不一致之处详见和 MySQL InnoDB 的差异):

  • UPDATEDELETEINSERT 语句都会读取已提交的最新数据来执行,并对所修改的行加悲观锁。

  • SELECT FOR UPDATE 语句会对已提交的最新的数据而非所修改的行加上悲观锁。

  • 悲观锁会在事务提交或回滚时释放。其他尝试修改这一行的写事务会被阻塞,等待悲观锁的释放。其他尝试读取这一行的事务不会被阻塞,因为 TiDB 采用多版本并发控制机制 (MVCC)。

  • 如果多个事务尝试获取各自的锁,会出现死锁,并被检测器自动检测到。其中一个事务会被随机终止掉并返回兼容 MySQL 的错误码 1213

  • 通过 innodb_lock_wait_timeout 变量,设置事务等锁的超时时间(默认值为 50,单位为秒)。等锁超时后返回兼容 MySQL 的错误码 1205。如果多个事务同时等待同一个锁释放,会大致按照事务 start ts 顺序获取锁。

  • 乐观事务和悲观事务可以共存,事务可以任意指定使用乐观模式或悲观模式来执行。

  • 支持 FOR UPDATE NOWAIT 语法,遇到锁时不会阻塞等锁,而是返回兼容 MySQL 的错误码 3572

  • 如果 Point GetBatch Point Get 算子没有读到数据,依然会对给定的主键或者唯一键加锁,阻塞其他事务对相同主键唯一键加锁或者进行写入操作。

和 MySQL InnoDB 的差异

  1. 有些 WHERE 子句中使用了 range,TiDB 在执行这类 DML 语句和 SELECT FOR UPDATE 语句时,不会阻塞 range 内并发的 DML 语句的执行。

    举例:

    CREATE TABLE t1 (
     id INT NOT NULL PRIMARY KEY,
     pad1 VARCHAR(100)
    );
    INSERT INTO t1 (id) VALUES (1),(5),(10);
    BEGIN /*T! PESSIMISTIC */;
    SELECT * FROM t1 WHERE id BETWEEN 1 AND 10 FOR UPDATE;
    BEGIN /*T! PESSIMISTIC */;
    INSERT INTO t1 (id) VALUES (6); -- 仅 MySQL 中出现阻塞。
    UPDATE t1 SET pad1='new value' WHERE id = 5; -- MySQL 和 TiDB 处于等待阻塞状态。

    产生这一行为是因为 TiDB 当前不支持 gap locking(间隙锁)。

  2. TiDB 不支持 SELECT LOCK IN SHARE MODE

    使用这个语句执行的时候,效果和没有加锁是一样的,不会阻塞其他事务的读写。

  3. DDL 可能会导致悲观事务提交失败。

    MySQL 在执行 DDL 语句时,会被正在执行的事务阻塞住,而在 TiDB 中 DDL 操作会成功,造成悲观事务提交失败:ERROR 1105 (HY000): Information schema is changed. [try again later]。TiDB 事务执行过程中并发执行 TRUNCATE TABLE 语句,可能会导致事务报错 table doesn't exist

  4. START TRANSACTION WITH CONSISTENT SNAPSHOT 之后,MySQL 仍然可以读取到之后在其他事务创建的表,而 TiDB 不能。

  5. autocommit 事务不支持悲观锁。

    所有自动提交的语句都不会加悲观锁,该类语句在用户侧感知不到区别,因为悲观事务的本质是把整个事务的重试变成了单个 DML 的重试,autocommit 事务即使在 TiDB 关闭重试时也会自动重试,效果和悲观事务相同。

    自动提交的 select for update 语句也不会等锁。

  6. 对语句中 EMBEDDED SELECT 读到的相关数据不会加锁。

  7. 垃圾回收 (GC) 不会影响到正在执行的事务,但悲观事务的执行时间仍有上限,默认为 10 分钟,可通过 TiDB 配置文件 [performance] 类别下的 max-txn-ttl 修改。

隔离级别

TiDB 在悲观事务模式下支持了 2 种隔离级别:

  1. 默认使用与 MySQL 行为相同的可重复读隔离级别 (Repeatable Read)

    注意:

    在这种隔离级别下,DML 操作会基于已提交的最新数据来执行,行为与 MySQL 相同,但与 TiDB 乐观事务不同,请参考与 MySQL 可重复读隔离级别的区别

  2. 使用 SET TRANSACTION 语句可将隔离级别设置为读已提交隔离级别 (Read Committed)

Pipelined 加锁流程

加悲观锁需要向 TiKV 写入数据,要经过 Raft 提交并 apply 后才能返回,相比于乐观事务,不可避免的会增加部分延迟。为了降低加锁的开销,TiKV 实现了 pipelined 加锁流程:当数据满足加锁要求时,TiKV 立刻通知 TiDB 执行后面的请求,并异步写入悲观锁,从而降低大部分延迟,显著提升悲观事务的性能。但有较低概率悲观锁异步写入失败,可能会导致悲观事务提交失败。

Pipelined pessimistic lock

该功能默认关闭,可修改 TiKV 配置启用:

[pessimistic-txn]
pipelined = true

Doc Menu

TiDB Pessimistic Transaction Model

To make the usage of TiDB closer to traditional databases and reduce the cost of migration, starting from v3.0, TiDB supports the pessimistic transaction model on top of the optimistic transaction model. This document describes the features of the TiDB pessimistic transaction model.

Note:

Starting from v3.0.8, newly created TiDB clusters use the pessimistic transaction model by default. However, this does not affect your existing cluster if you upgrade it from v3.0.7 or earlier to v3.0.8 or later. In other words, only newly created clusters default to using the pessimistic transaction model.

Switch transaction mode

You can set the transaction mode by configuring the tidb_txn_mode system variable. The following command sets all explicit transactions (that is, non-autocommit transactions) executed by newly created sessions in the cluster to the pessimistic transaction mode:

SET GLOBAL tidb_txn_mode = 'pessimistic';

You can also explicitly enable the pessimistic transaction mode by executing the following SQL statements:

BEGIN PESSIMISTIC;
BEGIN /*T! PESSIMISTIC */;

The BEGIN PESSIMISTIC; and BEGIN OPTIMISTIC; statements take precedence over the tidb_txn_mode system variable. Transactions started with these two statements ignore the system variable and support using both the pessimistic and optimistic transaction modes.

Behaviors

Pessimistic transactions in TiDB behave similarly to those in MySQL. See the minor differences in Difference with MySQL InnoDB.

  • When you execute UPDATE, DELETE or INSERT statements, the latest committed data is read, data is modified, and a pessimistic lock is applied on the modified rows.

  • For SELECT FOR UPDATE statements, a pessimistic lock is applied on the latest version of the committed data, instead of on the modified rows.

  • Locks will be released when the transaction is committed or rolled back. Other transactions attempting to modify the data are blocked and have to wait for the lock to be released. Transactions attempting to read the data are not blocked, because TiDB uses multi-version concurrency control (MVCC).

  • If several transactions are trying to acquire each other's respective locks, a deadlock will occur. This is automatically detected, and one of the transactions will randomly be terminated with a MySQL-compatible error code 1213 returned.

  • Transactions will wait up to innodb_lock_wait_timeout seconds (default: 50) to acquire new locks. When this timeout is reached, a MySQL-compatible error code 1205 is returned. If multiple transactions are waiting for the same lock, the order of priority is approximately based on the start ts of the transaction.

  • TiDB supports both the optimistic transaction mode and pessimistic transaction mode in the same cluster. You can specify either mode for transaction execution.

  • TiDB supports the FOR UPDATE NOWAIT syntax and does not block and wait for locks to be released. Instead, a MySQL-compatible error code 3572 is returned.

  • If the Point Get and Batch Point Get operators do not read data, they still lock the given primary key or unique key, which blocks other transactions from locking or writing data to the same primary key or unique key.

Difference with MySQL InnoDB

  1. When TiDB executes DML or SELECT FOR UPDATE statements that use range in the WHERE clause, concurrent DML statements within the range are not blocked.

    For example:

    CREATE TABLE t1 (
     id INT NOT NULL PRIMARY KEY,
     pad1 VARCHAR(100)
    );
    INSERT INTO t1 (id) VALUES (1),(5),(10);
    BEGIN /*T! PESSIMISTIC */;
    SELECT * FROM t1 WHERE id BETWEEN 1 AND 10 FOR UPDATE;
    BEGIN /*T! PESSIMISTIC */;
    INSERT INTO t1 (id) VALUES (6); -- blocks only in MySQL
    UPDATE t1 SET pad1='new value' WHERE id = 5; -- blocks waiting in both MySQL and TiDB

    This behavior is because TiDB does not currently support gap locking.

  2. TiDB does not support SELECT LOCK IN SHARE MODE.

    When SELECT LOCK IN SHARE MODE is executed, it has the same effect as that without the lock, so the read or write operation of other transactions is not blocked.

  3. DDL may result in failure of the pessimistic transaction commit.

    When DDL is executed in MySQL, it might be blocked by the transaction that is being executed. However, in this scenario, the DDL operation is not blocked in TiDB, which leads to failure of the pessimistic transaction commit: ERROR 1105 (HY000): Information schema is changed. [try again later]. TiDB executes the TRUNCATE TABLE statement during the transaction execution, which might result in the table doesn't exist error.

  4. After executing START TRANSACTION WITH CONSISTENT SNAPSHOT, MySQL can still read the tables that are created later in other transactions, while TiDB cannot.

  5. The autocommit transactions do not support the pessimistic locking.

    None of the autocommit statements acquire the pessimistic lock. These statements do not display any difference in the user side, because the nature of pessimistic transactions is to turn the retry of the whole transaction into a single DML retry. The autocommit transactions automatically retry even when TiDB closes the retry, which has the same effect as pessimistic transactions.

    The autocommit SELECT FOR UPDATE statement does not wait for lock, either.

  6. The data read by EMBEDDED SELECT in the statement is not locked.

  7. Open transactions in TiDB do not block garbage collection (GC). By default, this limits the maximum execution time of pessimistic transactions to 10 minutes. You can modify this limit by editing max-txn-ttl under [performance] in the TiDB configuration file.

Isolation level

TiDB supports the following two isolation levels in the pessimistic transaction mode:

Pipelined locking process

Adding a pessimistic lock requires writing data into TiKV. The response of successfully adding a lock can only be returned to TiDB after commit and apply through Raft. Therefore, compared with optimistic transactions, the pessimistic transaction mode inevitably has higher latency.

To reduce the overhead of locking, TiKV implements the pipelined locking process: when the data meets the requirements for locking, TiKV immediately notifies TiDB to execute subsequent requests and writes into the pessimistic lock asynchronously. This process reduces most latency and significantly improves the performance of pessimistic transactions. However, there is a low probability that the asynchronous write into the pessimistic lock might fail, resulting in the commit failure of the pessimistic transaction.

Pipelined pessimistic lock

This feature is disabled by default. To enable it, modify the TiKV configuration:

[pessimistic-txn]
pipelined = true