使用 TTL (Time to Live) 定期删除过期数据

Time to Live (TTL) 提供了行级别的生命周期控制策略。通过为表设置 TTL 属性,TiDB 可以周期性地自动检查并清理表中的过期数据。此功能在一些场景可以有效节省存储空间、提升性能。

TTL 常见的使用场景:

  • 定期删除验证码、短网址记录
  • 定期删除不需要的历史订单
  • 自动删除计算的中间结果

TTL 设计的目标是在不影响在线读写负载的前提下,帮助用户周期性且及时地清理不需要的数据。TTL 会以表为单位,并发地分发不同的任务到不同的 TiDB Server 节点上,进行并行删除处理。TTL 并不保证所有过期数据立即被删除,也就是说即使数据过期了,客户端仍然有可能在这之后的一段时间内读到过期的数据,直到其真正的被后台处理任务删除。

语法

你可以通过 CREATE TABLEALTER TABLE 语句来配置表的 TTL 功能。

创建具有 TTL 属性的表

  • 创建一个具有 TTL 属性的表:

    CREATE TABLE t1 ( id int PRIMARY KEY, created_at TIMESTAMP ) TTL = `created_at` + INTERVAL 3 MONTH;

    上面的例子创建了一张表 t1,并指定了 created_at 为 TTL 的时间列,表示数据的创建时间。同时,它还通过 INTERVAL 3 MONTH 设置了表中行的最长存活时间为 3 个月。超过了此时长的过期数据会在之后被删除。

  • 设置 TTL_ENABLE 属性来开启或关闭清理过期数据的功能:

    CREATE TABLE t1 ( id int PRIMARY KEY, created_at TIMESTAMP ) TTL = `created_at` + INTERVAL 3 MONTH TTL_ENABLE = 'OFF';

    如果 TTL_ENABLE 被设置成了 OFF,则即使设置了其他 TTL 选项,当前表也不会自动清理过期数据。对于一个设置了 TTL 属性的表,TTL_ENABLE 在缺省条件下默认为 ON

  • 为了与 MySQL 兼容,你也可以使用注释语法来设置 TTL:

    CREATE TABLE t1 ( id int PRIMARY KEY, created_at TIMESTAMP ) /*T![ttl] TTL = `created_at` + INTERVAL 3 MONTH TTL_ENABLE = 'OFF'*/;

    在 TiDB 环境中,使用表的 TTL 属性和注释语法来配置 TTL 是等价的。在 MySQL 环境中,会自动忽略注释中的内容,并创建普通的表。

修改表的 TTL 属性

  • 修改表的 TTL 属性:

    ALTER TABLE t1 TTL = `created_at` + INTERVAL 1 MONTH;

    上面的语句既支持修改已配置 TTL 属性的表,也支持为一张非 TTL 的表添加 TTL 属性。

  • 单独修改 TTL 表的 TTL_ENABLE 值:

    ALTER TABLE t1 TTL_ENABLE = 'OFF';
  • 清除一张表的所有 TTL 属性:

    ALTER TABLE t1 REMOVE TTL;

TTL 和数据类型的默认值

TTL 可以和数据类型的默认值一起使用。以下是两种常见的用法示例:

  • 使用 DEFAULT CURRENT_TIMESTAMP 来指定某一列的默认值为该行的创建时间,并用这一列作为 TTL 的时间列,创建时间超过 3 个月的数据将被标记为过期:

    CREATE TABLE t1 ( id int PRIMARY KEY, created_at TIMESTAMP DEFAULT CURRENT_TIMESTAMP ) TTL = `created_at` + INTERVAL 3 MONTH;
  • 指定某一列的默认值为该行的创建时间或更新时间,并用这一列作为 TTL 的时间列,创建时间或更新时间超过 3 个月的数据将被标记为过期:

    CREATE TABLE t1 ( id int PRIMARY KEY, created_at TIMESTAMP DEFAULT CURRENT_TIMESTAMP ON UPDATE CURRENT_TIMESTAMP ) TTL = `created_at` + INTERVAL 3 MONTH;

TTL 和生成列

TTL 可以和生成列一起使用,用来表达更加复杂的过期规则。例如:

CREATE TABLE message ( id int PRIMARY KEY, created_at TIMESTAMP DEFAULT CURRENT_TIMESTAMP, image bool, expire_at TIMESTAMP AS (IF(image, created_at + INTERVAL 5 DAY, created_at + INTERVAL 30 DAY )) ) TTL = `expire_at` + INTERVAL 0 DAY;

上述语句的消息以 expire_at 列来作为过期时间,并按照消息类型来设定。如果是图片,则 5 天后过期,不然就 30 天后过期。

TTL 还可以和 JSON 类型 一起使用。例如:

CREATE TABLE orders ( id INT NOT NULL AUTO_INCREMENT PRIMARY KEY, order_info JSON, created_at DATE AS (JSON_EXTRACT(order_info, '$.created_at')) VIRTUAL ) TTL = `created_at` + INTERVAL 3 month;

TTL 任务

对于每张设置了 TTL 属性的表,TiDB 内部会定期调度后台任务来清理过期的数据。你可以通过给表设置 TTL_JOB_INTERVAL 属性来自定义任务的执行周期,比如通过下面的语句将后台清理任务设置为每 24 小时执行一次:

ALTER TABLE orders TTL_JOB_INTERVAL = '24h';

TTL_JOB_INTERVAL 的默认值是 1h

在执行 TTL 任务时,TiDB 会基于 Region 的数量将表拆分为最多 64 个子任务。这些子任务会被分发到不同的 TiDB 节点中执行。你可以通过设置系统变量 tidb_ttl_running_tasks 来限制整个集群中同时执行的 TTL 子任务数量。然而,并非所有表的 TTL 任务都可以被拆分为子任务。请参考使用限制以了解哪些表的 TTL 任务不能被拆分。

如果想禁止 TTL 任务的执行,除了可以设置表属性 TTL_ENABLE='OFF' 外,也可以通过设置全局变量 tidb_ttl_job_enable 关闭整个集群的 TTL 任务的执行。

SET @@global.tidb_ttl_job_enable = OFF;

在某些场景下,你可能希望只允许在每天的某个时间段内调度后台的 TTL 任务,此时可以设置全局变量 tidb_ttl_job_schedule_window_start_timetidb_ttl_job_schedule_window_end_time 来指定时间窗口,比如:

SET @@global.tidb_ttl_job_schedule_window_start_time = '01:00 +0000'; SET @@global.tidb_ttl_job_schedule_window_end_time = '05:00 +0000';

上述语句只允许在 UTC 时间的凌晨 1 点到 5 点调度 TTL 任务。默认情况下的时间窗口设置为 00:00 +000023:59 +0000,即允许所有时段的任务调度。

TTL 的可观测性

TiDB 会定时采集 TTL 的运行时信息,并在 Grafana 中提供了相关指标的可视化图表。你可以在 TiDB -> TTL 的面板下看到这些信息。指标详情见 TiDB 重要监控指标详解 中的 TTL 部分。

同时,可以通过以下三个系统表获得 TTL 任务执行的更多信息:

  • mysql.tidb_ttl_table_status 表中包含了所有 TTL 表的上一次执行与正在执行的 TTL 任务的信息。以其中一行为例:

    TABLE mysql.tidb_ttl_table_status LIMIT 1\G
    *************************** 1. row *************************** table_id: 85 parent_table_id: 85 table_statistics: NULL last_job_id: 0b4a6d50-3041-4664-9516-5525ee6d9f90 last_job_start_time: 2023-02-15 20:43:46 last_job_finish_time: 2023-02-15 20:44:46 last_job_ttl_expire: 2023-02-15 19:43:46 last_job_summary: {"total_rows":4369519,"success_rows":4369519,"error_rows":0,"total_scan_task":64,"scheduled_scan_task":64,"finished_scan_task":64} current_job_id: NULL current_job_owner_id: NULL current_job_owner_addr: NULL current_job_owner_hb_time: NULL current_job_start_time: NULL current_job_ttl_expire: NULL current_job_state: NULL current_job_status: NULL current_job_status_update_time: NULL 1 row in set (0.040 sec)

    其中列 table_id 为分区表 ID,而 parent_table_id 为表的 ID,与 information_schema.tables 表中的 ID 对应。如果表不是分区表,则 table_idparent_table_id 总是相等。

    {last, current}_job_{start_time, finish_time, ttl_expire} 分别描述了过去和当前 TTL 任务的开始时间、结束时间和过期时间。last_job_summary 列描述了上一次 TTL 任务的执行情况,包括总行数、成功行数、失败行数。

  • mysql.tidb_ttl_task 表中包含了正在执行的 TTL 子任务。单个 TTL 任务会被拆分为多个子任务,该表中记录了正在执行的这些子任务的信息。

  • mysql.tidb_ttl_job_history 表中记录了 TTL 任务的执行历史。TTL 任务的历史记录将被保存 90 天。以一行为例:

    TABLE mysql.tidb_ttl_job_history LIMIT 1\G
    *************************** 1. row *************************** job_id: f221620c-ab84-4a28-9d24-b47ca2b5a301 table_id: 85 parent_table_id: 85 table_schema: test_schema table_name: TestTable partition_name: NULL create_time: 2023-02-15 17:43:46 finish_time: 2023-02-15 17:45:46 ttl_expire: 2023-02-15 16:43:46 summary_text: {"total_rows":9588419,"success_rows":9588419,"error_rows":0,"total_scan_task":63,"scheduled_scan_task":63,"finished_scan_task":63} expired_rows: 9588419 deleted_rows: 9588419 error_delete_rows: 0 status: finished

    其中列 table_id 为分区表 ID,而 parent_table_id 为表的 ID,与 information_schema.tables 表中的 ID 对应。table_schematable_namepartition_name 分别对应表示数据库、表名、分区名。create_timefinish_timettl_expire 分别表示 TTL 任务的创建时间、结束时间和过期时间。expired_rowsdeleted_rows 表示过期行数与成功删除的行数。

TiDB 数据迁移工具兼容性

TTL 功能能够与 TiDB 的迁移、备份、恢复工具一同使用。

工具名称最低兼容版本说明
Backup & Restore (BR)v6.6.0恢复时会自动将表的 TTL_ENABLE 属性设置为 OFF,关闭 TTL。这样可以防止 TiDB 在备份恢复后立即删除过期的数据。此时你需要手动重新配置 TTL_ENABLE 属性来重新开启各个表的 TTL。
TiDB Lightningv6.6.0导入后如果表中有 TTL 属性,会自动将表的 TTL_ENABLE 属性设置为 OFF,关闭 TTL。这样可以防止 TiDB 在导入后立即删除过期的数据。此时你需要手动重新配置 TTL_ENABLE 属性来重新开启各个表的 TTL。
TiCDCv7.0.0上游的 TTL 删除将会同步至下游。因此,为了防止重复删除,下游表的 TTL_ENABLE 属性将被强制设置为 OFF

与 TiDB 其他特性的兼容性

特性名称说明
FLASHBACK TABLEFLASHBACK TABLE 语句会将每个表的 TTL_ENABLE 属性强制设置为 OFF。这样可以防止 TiDB 在 FLASHBACK 后立即删除过期的数据。此时你需要手动重新配置 TTL_ENABLE 属性来重新开启各个表的 TTL。
FLASHBACK DATABASEFLASHBACK DATABASE 语句会将每个表的 TTL_ENABLE 属性强制设置为 OFF。这样可以防止 TiDB 在 FLASHBACK 后立即删除过期的数据。此时你需要手动重新配置 TTL_ENABLE 属性来重新开启各个表的 TTL。
FLASHBACK CLUSTERFLASHBACK CLUSTER 会将 TIDB_TTL_JOB_ENABLE 系统变量设置为 OFF,同时表的 TTL_ENABLE 属性将保持原样。

使用限制

目前,TTL 特性具有以下限制:

  • 不允许在临时表上设置 TTL 属性,包括本地临时表和全局临时表。
  • 具有 TTL 属性的表不支持作为外键约束的主表被其他表引用。
  • 不保证所有过期数据立即被删除,过期数据被删除的时间取决于后台清理任务的调度周期和调度窗口。
  • 对于使用聚簇索引的表,如果主键的类型不是整数类型或二进制字符串类型,TTL 任务将无法被拆分成多个子任务。这将导致 TTL 任务只能在一个 TiDB 节点上按顺序执行。如果表中的数据量较大,TTL 任务的执行可能会变得缓慢。
  • TTL 无法在 TiDB Serverless 集群上使用。

常见问题

  • 如何判断删除的速度是否够快,能够保持数据总量相对稳定?

    Grafana TiDB 面板中,监控项 TTL Insert Rows Per Hour 记录了前一小时总共插入数据的数量。相应的 TTL Delete Rows Per Hour 记录了前一小时 TTL 任务总共删除的数据总量。如果 TTL Insert Rows Per Hour 长期高于 TTL Delete Rows Per Hour, 说明插入的速度高于删除的速度,数据总量将会上升。例如:

    insert fast example

    值得注意的是,由于 TTL 并不能保证数据立即被删除,且当前插入的数据将会在将来的 TTL 任务中才会被删除,哪怕短时间内 TTL 删除的速度低于插入的速度,也不能说明 TTL 的效率一定过慢。需要结合具体情况分析。

  • 如何判断 TTL 任务的瓶颈在扫描还是删除?

    观察面板中 TTL Scan Worker Time By PhaseTTL Delete Worker Time By Phase 监控项。如果 scan worker 处于 dispatch 状态的时间有很大占比,且 delete worker 很少处于 idle 状态,那么说明 scan worker 在等待 delete worker 完成删除工作,如果此时集群资源仍然较为宽松,可以考虑提高 tidb_ttl_delete_worker_count 来提高删除的 worker 数量。例如:

    scan fast example

    与之相对,如果 scan worker 很少处于 dispatch 的状态,且 delete worker 长期处于 idle 阶段,那么说明 delete worker 闲置,且 scan worker 较为忙碌。例如:

    delete fast example

    TTL 任务中扫描与删除的占比与机器配置、数据分布都有关系,所以每一时刻的数据只能代表正在执行的 TTL Job 的情况。用户可以通过查询表 mysql.tidb_ttl_job_history 来判断某一时刻运行的 TTL Job 对应哪一张表。

  • 如何合理配置 tidb_ttl_scan_worker_counttidb_ttl_delete_worker_count

    1. 可以参考问题 "如何判断 TTL 任务的瓶颈在扫描还是删除?" 来考虑提升 tidb_ttl_scan_worker_count 还是 tidb_ttl_delete_worker_count

    2. 如果 TiKV 节点数量较多,提升 tidb_ttl_scan_worker_count 能够使 TTL 任务负载更加均匀。

      由于过高的 TTL worker 数量将会造成较大的压力,所以需要综合观察 TiDB 的 CPU 水平与 TiKV 的磁盘与 CPU 使用量。根据不同场景和需求(需要尽量加速 TTL,或是需要减少 TTL 对其他请求的影响)来调整 tidb_ttl_scan_worker_counttidb_ttl_delete_worker_count,从而提升 TTL 扫描和删除数据的速度,或降低 TTL 任务对性能的影响。

文档内容是否有帮助?

下载 PDF文档反馈社区交流修改本文
产品
TiDB
TiDB Cloud
© 2024 PingCAP. All Rights Reserved.
Privacy Policy.

Sign InTry Free

Periodically Delete Expired Data Using TTL (Time to Live)

Time to live (TTL) is a feature that allows you to manage TiDB data lifetime at the row level. For a table with the TTL attribute, TiDB automatically checks data lifetime and deletes expired data at the row level. This feature can effectively save storage space and enhance performance in some scenarios.

The following are some common scenarios for TTL:

  • Regularly delete verification codes and short URLs.
  • Regularly delete unnecessary historical orders.
  • Automatically delete intermediate results of calculations.

TTL is designed to help users clean up unnecessary data periodically and in a timely manner without affecting the online read and write workloads. TTL concurrently dispatches different jobs to different TiDB nodes to delete data in parallel in the unit of table. TTL does not guarantee that all expired data is deleted immediately, which means that even if some data is expired, the client might still read that data some time after the expiration time until that data is deleted by the background TTL job.

Syntax

You can configure the TTL attribute of a table using the CREATE TABLE or ALTER TABLE statement.

Create a table with a TTL attribute

  • Create a table with a TTL attribute:

    CREATE TABLE t1 ( id int PRIMARY KEY, created_at TIMESTAMP ) TTL = `created_at` + INTERVAL 3 MONTH;

    The preceding example creates a table t1 and specifies created_at as the TTL timestamp column, which indicates the creation time of the data. The example also sets the longest time that a row is allowed to live in the table to 3 months through INTERVAL 3 MONTH. Data that lives longer than this value will be deleted later.

  • Set the TTL_ENABLE attribute to enable or disable the feature of cleaning up expired data:

    CREATE TABLE t1 ( id int PRIMARY KEY, created_at TIMESTAMP ) TTL = `created_at` + INTERVAL 3 MONTH TTL_ENABLE = 'OFF';

    If TTL_ENABLE is set to OFF, even if other TTL options are set, TiDB does not automatically clean up expired data in this table. For a table with the TTL attribute, TTL_ENABLE is ON by default.

  • To be compatible with MySQL, you can set a TTL attribute using a comment:

    CREATE TABLE t1 ( id int PRIMARY KEY, created_at TIMESTAMP ) /*T![ttl] TTL = `created_at` + INTERVAL 3 MONTH TTL_ENABLE = 'OFF'*/;

    In TiDB, using the table TTL attribute or using comments to configure TTL is equivalent. In MySQL, the comment is ignored and an ordinary table is created.

Modify the TTL attribute of a table

  • Modify the TTL attribute of a table:

    ALTER TABLE t1 TTL = `created_at` + INTERVAL 1 MONTH;

    You can use the preceding statement to modify a table with an existing TTL attribute or to add a TTL attribute to a table without a TTL attribute.

  • Modify the value of TTL_ENABLE for a table with the TTL attribute:

    ALTER TABLE t1 TTL_ENABLE = 'OFF';
  • To remove all TTL attributes of a table:

    ALTER TABLE t1 REMOVE TTL;

TTL and the default values of data types

You can use TTL together with default values of the data types. The following are two common usage examples:

  • Use DEFAULT CURRENT_TIMESTAMP to specify the default value of a column as the current creation time and use this column as the TTL timestamp column. Records that were created 3 months ago are expired:

    CREATE TABLE t1 ( id int PRIMARY KEY, created_at TIMESTAMP DEFAULT CURRENT_TIMESTAMP ) TTL = `created_at` + INTERVAL 3 MONTH;
  • Specify the default value of a column as the creation time or the latest update time and use this column as the TTL timestamp column. Records that have not been updated for 3 months are expired:

    CREATE TABLE t1 ( id int PRIMARY KEY, created_at TIMESTAMP DEFAULT CURRENT_TIMESTAMP ON UPDATE CURRENT_TIMESTAMP ) TTL = `created_at` + INTERVAL 3 MONTH;

TTL and generated columns

You can use TTL together with generated columns to configure complex expiration rules. For example:

CREATE TABLE message ( id int PRIMARY KEY, created_at TIMESTAMP DEFAULT CURRENT_TIMESTAMP, image bool, expire_at TIMESTAMP AS (IF(image, created_at + INTERVAL 5 DAY, created_at + INTERVAL 30 DAY )) ) TTL = `expire_at` + INTERVAL 0 DAY;

The preceding statement uses the expire_at column as the TTL timestamp column and sets the expiration time according to the message type. If the message is an image, it expires in 5 days. Otherwise, it expires in 30 days.

You can use TTL together with the JSON type. For example:

CREATE TABLE orders ( id INT NOT NULL AUTO_INCREMENT PRIMARY KEY, order_info JSON, created_at DATE AS (JSON_EXTRACT(order_info, '$.created_at')) VIRTUAL ) TTL = `created_at` + INTERVAL 3 month;

TTL job

For each table with a TTL attribute, TiDB internally schedules a background job to clean up expired data. You can customize the execution period of these jobs by setting the TTL_JOB_INTERVAL attribute for the table. The following example sets the background cleanup jobs for the table orders to run once every 24 hours:

ALTER TABLE orders TTL_JOB_INTERVAL = '24h';

TTL_JOB_INTERVAL is set to 1h by default.

When executing a TTL job, TiDB will split the table into up to 64 tasks, with the Region being the smallest unit. These tasks will be executed distributedly. You can limit the number of concurrent TTL tasks across the entire cluster by setting the system variable tidb_ttl_running_tasks. However, not all TTL jobs for all kinds of tables can be split into tasks. For more details on which kinds of tables' TTL jobs cannot be split into tasks, refer to the Limitations section.

To disable the execution of TTL jobs, in addition to setting the TTL_ENABLE='OFF' table option, you can also disable the execution of TTL jobs in the entire cluster by setting the tidb_ttl_job_enable global variable:

SET @@global.tidb_ttl_job_enable = OFF;

In some scenarios, you might want to allow TTL jobs to run only in a certain time window. In this case, you can set the tidb_ttl_job_schedule_window_start_time and tidb_ttl_job_schedule_window_end_time global variables to specify the time window. For example:

SET @@global.tidb_ttl_job_schedule_window_start_time = '01:00 +0000'; SET @@global.tidb_ttl_job_schedule_window_end_time = '05:00 +0000';

The preceding statement allows TTL jobs to be scheduled only between 1:00 and 5:00 UTC. By default, the time window is set to 00:00 +0000 to 23:59 +0000, which allows the jobs to be scheduled at any time.

Observability

TiDB collects runtime information about TTL periodically and provides visualized charts of these metrics in Grafana. You can see these metrics in the TiDB -> TTL panel in Grafana.

For details of the metrics, see the TTL section in TiDB Monitoring Metrics.

In addition, TiDB provides three tables to obtain more information about TTL jobs:

  • The mysql.tidb_ttl_table_status table contains information about the previously executed TTL job and ongoing TTL job for all TTL tables

    TABLE mysql.tidb_ttl_table_status LIMIT 1\G
    *************************** 1. row *************************** table_id: 85 parent_table_id: 85 table_statistics: NULL last_job_id: 0b4a6d50-3041-4664-9516-5525ee6d9f90 last_job_start_time: 2023-02-15 20:43:46 last_job_finish_time: 2023-02-15 20:44:46 last_job_ttl_expire: 2023-02-15 19:43:46 last_job_summary: {"total_rows":4369519,"success_rows":4369519,"error_rows":0,"total_scan_task":64,"scheduled_scan_task":64,"finished_scan_task":64} current_job_id: NULL current_job_owner_id: NULL current_job_owner_addr: NULL current_job_owner_hb_time: NULL current_job_start_time: NULL current_job_ttl_expire: NULL current_job_state: NULL current_job_status: NULL current_job_status_update_time: NULL 1 row in set (0.040 sec)

    The column table_id is the ID of the partitioned table, and the parent_table_id is the ID of the table, corresponding with the ID in information_schema.tables. If the table is not a partitioned table, the two IDs are the same.

    The columns {last, current}_job_{start_time, finish_time, ttl_expire} describe respectively the start time, finish time, and expiration time used by the TTL job of the last or current execution. The last_job_summary column describes the execution status of the last TTL task, including the total number of rows, the number of successful rows, and the number of failed rows.

  • The mysql.tidb_ttl_task table contains information about the ongoing TTL subtasks. A TTL job is split into many subtasks, and this table records the subtasks that are currently being executed.

  • The mysql.tidb_ttl_job_history table contains information about the TTL jobs that have been executed. The record of TTL job history is kept for 90 days.

    TABLE mysql.tidb_ttl_job_history LIMIT 1\G
    *************************** 1. row *************************** job_id: f221620c-ab84-4a28-9d24-b47ca2b5a301 table_id: 85 parent_table_id: 85 table_schema: test_schema table_name: TestTable partition_name: NULL create_time: 2023-02-15 17:43:46 finish_time: 2023-02-15 17:45:46 ttl_expire: 2023-02-15 16:43:46 summary_text: {"total_rows":9588419,"success_rows":9588419,"error_rows":0,"total_scan_task":63,"scheduled_scan_task":63,"finished_scan_task":63} expired_rows: 9588419 deleted_rows: 9588419 error_delete_rows: 0 status: finished

    The column table_id is the ID of the partitioned table, and the parent_table_id is the ID of the table, corresponding with the ID in information_schema.tables. table_schema, table_name, and partition_name correspond to the database, table name, and partition name. create_time, finish_time, and ttl_expire indicate the creation time, end time, and expiration time of the TTL task. expired_rows and deleted_rows indicate the number of expired rows and the number of rows deleted successfully.

Compatibility with TiDB tools

TTL can be used with other TiDB migration, backup, and recovery tools.

Tool nameMinimum supported versionDescription
Backup & Restore (BR)v6.6.0After you restore data using BR, the TTL_ENABLE attribute of the tables will be set to OFF. This prevents TiDB from immediately deleting expired data after backup and restore. You need to manually turn on the TTL_ENABLE attribute to re-enable TTL for each table.
TiDB Lightningv6.6.0After you import data using TiDB Lighting, the TTL_ENABLE attribute of the imported table will be set to OFF. This prevents TiDB from immediately deleting expired data after importing. You need to manually turn on the TTL_ENABLE attribute to re-enable TTL for each table.
TiCDCv7.0.0The TTL_ENABLE attribute in the downstream will be automatically set to OFF. The upstream TTL deletions will be synchronized to the downstream. Therefore, to prevent duplicate deletions, the TTL_ENABLE attribute of the downstream tables will be forcibly set to OFF.

Compatibility with SQL

Feature nameDescription
FLASHBACK TABLEFLASHBACK TABLE will set the TTL_ENABLE attribute of the tables to OFF. This prevents TiDB from immediately deleting expired data after the flashback. You need to manually turn on the TTL_ENABLE attribute to re-enable TTL for each table.
FLASHBACK DATABASEFLASHBACK DATABASE will set the TTL_ENABLE attribute of the tables to OFF, and the TTL_ENABLE attribute will not be modified. This prevents TiDB from immediately deleting expired data after the flashback. You need to manually turn on the TTL_ENABLE attribute to re-enable TTL for each table.
FLASHBACK CLUSTERFLASHBACK CLUSTER will set the system variable TIDB_TTL_JOB_ENABLE to OFF and do not change the value of the TTL_ENABLE attribute.

Limitations

Currently, the TTL feature has the following limitations:

  • The TTL attribute cannot be set on temporary tables, including local temporary tables and global temporary tables.
  • A table with the TTL attribute does not support being referenced by other tables as the primary table in a foreign key constraint.
  • It is not guaranteed that all expired data is deleted immediately. The time when expired data is deleted depends on the scheduling interval and scheduling window of the background cleanup job.
  • For tables that use clustered indexes, if the primary key is neither an integer nor a binary string type, the TTL job cannot be split into multiple tasks. This will cause the TTL job to be executed sequentially on a single TiDB node. If the table contains a large amount of data, the execution of the TTL job might become slow.
  • TTL is not available for TiDB Serverless.

FAQs

  • How can I determine whether the deletion is fast enough to keep the data size relatively stable?

    In the Grafana TiDB dashboard, the panel TTL Insert Rows Per Hour records the total number of rows inserted in the previous hour. The corresponding TTL Delete Rows Per Hour records the total number of rows deleted by the TTL task in the previous hour. If TTL Insert Rows Per Hour is higher than TTL Delete Rows Per Hour for a long time, it means that the rate of insertion is higher than the rate of deletion and the total amount of data will increase. For example:

    insert fast example

    It is worth noting that since TTL does not guarantee that the expired rows will be deleted immediately, and the rows currently inserted will be deleted in a future TTL task, even if the speed of TTL deletion is lower than the speed of insertion in a short period of time, it does not necessarily mean that the speed of TTL is too slow. You need to consider the situation in its context.

  • How can I determine whether the bottleneck of a TTL task is in scanning or deleting?

    Look at the TTL Scan Worker Time By Phase and TTL Delete Worker Time By Phase panels. If the scan worker is in the dispatch phase for a large percentage of time and the delete worker is rarely in the idle phase, then the scan worker is waiting for the delete worker to finish the deletion. If the cluster resources are still free at this point, you can consider increasing tidb_ttl_ delete_worker_count to increase the number of delete workers. For example:

    scan fast example

    In contrast, if the scan worker is rarely in the dispatch phase and the delete worker is in the idle phase for a long time, then the scan worker is relatively busy. For example:

    delete fast example

    The percentage of scan and delete in TTL jobs is related to the machine configuration and data distribution, so the monitoring data at each moment is only representative of the TTL Jobs being executed. You can read the table mysql.tidb_ttl_job_history to determine which TTL job is running at a certain moment and the corresponding table of the job.

  • How to configure tidb_ttl_scan_worker_count and tidb_ttl_delete_worker_count properly?

    1. Refer to the question "How to determine whether the bottleneck of TTL tasks is in scanning or deleting?" to consider whether to increase the value of tidb_ttl_scan_worker_count or tidb_ttl_delete_worker_count.

    2. If the number of TiKV nodes is high, increase the value of tidb_ttl_scan_worker_count can make the TTL task workload more balanced.

      Since too many TTL workers will cause a lot of pressure, you need to evaluate the CPU level of TiDB and the disk and CPU usage of TiKV together. Depending on different scenarios and needs (whether you need to speed up TTL as much as possible, or to reduce the impact of TTL on other queries), you can adjust the value of tidb_ttl_scan_worker_count and tidb_ttl_delete_worker_count to improve the speed of TTL scanning and deleting or reduce the performance impact brought by TTL tasks.

  • How to configure tidb_ttl_scan_worker_count and tidb_ttl_delete_worker_count properly?

    If the number of TiKV nodes is high, increase the value of tidb_ttl_scan_worker_count can make the TTL task workload more balanced.

    But too many TTL workers will cause a lot of pressure, you need to evaluate the CPU level of TiDB and the disk and CPU usage of TiKV together. Depending on different scenarios and needs (whether you need to speed up TTL as much as possible, or to reduce the impact of TTL on other queries), you can adjust the value of tidb_ttl_scan_worker_count and tidb_ttl_delete_worker_count to improve the speed of TTL scanning and deleting or reduce the performance impact brought by TTL tasks.

Was this page helpful?

Download PDFRequest docs changesAsk questions on DiscordEdit this page
Playground
New
One-stop & interactive experience of TiDB's capabilities WITHOUT registration.
Products
TiDB
TiDB Dedicated
TiDB Serverless
Pricing
Get Demo
Get Started
© 2024 PingCAP. All Rights Reserved.
Privacy Policy.