文档目录

静态加密 从 v4.0.0 版本开始引入

静态加密 (encryption at rest) 即在存储数据时进行数据加密。对于数据库,静态加密功能也叫透明数据加密 (TDE),区别于传输数据加密 (TLS) 或使用数据加密(很少使用)。SSD 驱动器、文件系统、云供应商等都可进行静态加密。但区别于这些加密方式,若 TiKV 在存储数据前就进行数据加密,攻击者则必须通过数据库的身份验证才能访问数据。例如,即使攻击者获得物理机的访问权限时,他也无法通过复制磁盘上的文件来访问数据。

TiKV 从 v4.0.0 起支持静态加密,即在 CTR 模式下使用 AES 对数据文件进行透明加密。要启用静态加密,用户须提供一个加密密钥,即主密钥。可以通过 AWS Key Management Service(推荐),即 KMS,提供主密钥 (master key),也可以指定将密钥以明文形式存储在文件中。TiKV 自动轮换 (rotate) 用于加密实际数据文件的密钥,主密钥则可以由用户手动轮换。请注意,静态加密仅加密静态数据(即磁盘上的数据),而不加密网络传输中的数据。建议 TLS 与静态加密一起使用。

同样,从 v4.0.0 起,Backup & Restore (BR) 支持对备份到 S3 的数据进行 S3 服务端加密 (SSE)。BR S3 服务端加密也支持使用用户自行创建的 AWS KMS 密钥进行加密。

注意事项及使用限制

当前版本 (v4.0.0) 的 TiKV 加密功能还存在待改善之处,将在未来版本中进行改善。

  • TiDB 集群部署后,大部分用户数据都存储在 TiKV 节点上。这部分数据可使用加密功能进行加密。但有少量元数据存储在 PD 节点上(例如用作 TiKV Region 边界的二级索引键)。截至 v4.0.0,PD 尚未支持静态加密功能。建议使用存储级加密(例如文件系统加密)来保护存储在 PD 中的敏感数据。
  • TiFlash 从 v4.0.5 开始支持静态加密功能,详情参阅 TiFlash 静态加密。TiKV 与 v4.0.5 之前版本的 TiFlash 一起部署时,存储在 TiFlash 中的数据不会被加密。
  • TiKV 当前不从核心转储 (core dumps) 中排除加密密钥和用户数据。建议在使用静态加密时禁用 TiKV 进程的核心转储。
  • TiKV 使用文件的绝对路径跟踪已加密的数据文件。一旦 TiKV 节点开启了加密功能,用户就不应更改数据文件的路径配置,例如 storage.data-dirraftstore.raftdb-pathrocksdb.wal-dirraftdb.wal-dir
  • TiKV 信息日志包含用于调试的用户数据。信息日志不会被加密。

功能概述

TiKV 当前支持的加密算法包括 AES128-CTR、AES192-CTR 和 AES256-CTR。TiKV 使用信封加密 (envelop encryption),所以启用加密后,TiKV 使用以下两种类型的密钥:

  • 主密钥 (master key):主密钥由用户提供,用于加密 TiKV 生成的数据密钥。用户在 TiKV 外部进行主密钥的管理。
  • 数据密钥 (data key):数据密钥由 TiKV 生成,是实际用于加密的密钥。TiKV 会自动轮换数据密钥。

多个 TiKV 实例可共用一个主密钥。在生产环境中,推荐通过 AWS KMS 提供主密钥。首先通过 AWS KMS 创建用户主密钥 (CMK),然后在配置文件中将 CMK 密钥的 ID 提供给 TiKV。TiKV 进程在运行时可以通过 IAM 角色访问 KMS CMK。如果 TiKV 无法访问 KMS CMK,TiKV 就无法启动或重新启动。详情参阅 AWS 文档中的 KMS and IAM

用户也可以通过文件形式提供主密钥。该文件须包含一个用十六进制字符串编码的 256 位(32 字节)密钥,并以换行符结尾(即 \n),且不包含其他任何内容。将密钥存储在磁盘上会泄漏密钥,因此密钥文件仅适合存储在 RAM 内存的 tempfs 中。

数据密钥由 TiKV 生成并传递给底层存储引擎(即 RocksDB)。RocksDB 写入的所有文件,包括 SST 文件,WAL 文件和 MANIFEST 文件,均由当前数据密钥加密。TiKV 使用的其他临时文件(可能包括用户数据)也由相同的数据密钥加密。默认情况下,TiKV 每周自动轮换数据密钥,但是该时间段是可配置的。密钥轮换时,TiKV 不会重写全部现有文件来替换密钥,但如果集群的写入量恒定,则 RocksDB compaction 会将使用最新的数据密钥对数据重新加密。TiKV 跟踪密钥和加密方法,并使用密钥信息对读取的内容进行解密。

无论用户配置了哪种数据加密方法,数据密钥都使用 AES256-GCM 算法进行加密,以方便对主密钥进行验证。所以当使用文件而不是 KMS 方式指定主密钥时,主密钥必须为 256位(32字节)

配置加密

要启用加密,你可以在 TiKV 的配置文件中添加加密部分:

[security.encryption]
data-encryption-method = aes128-ctr
data-key-rotation-period = 7d

data-encryption-method 的可选值为 aes128-ctraes192-ctraes256-ctrplaintext。默认值为 plaintext,即默认不开启加密功能。data-key-rotation-period 指定 TiKV 轮换密钥的频率。可以为新 TiKV 群集或现有 TiKV 群集开启加密,但只有启用后写入的数据才保证被加密。要禁用加密,请在配置文件中删除 data-encryption-method,或将该参数值为 plaintext,然后重启 TiKV。

如果启用了加密(即 data-encryption-method 的值不是 plaintext),则必须指定主密钥。要使用 AWS KMS 方式指定为主密钥,请在[security.encryption] 部分之后添加 [security.encryption.master-key] 部分:

[security.encryption.master-key]
type = "kms"
key-id = "0987dcba-09fe-87dc-65ba-ab0987654321"
region = "us-west-2"
endpoint = "https://kms.us-west-2.amazonaws.com"

key-id 指定 KMS CMK 的密钥 ID。region 为 KMS CMK 的 AWS 区域名。除非你使用非 AWS 提供的 AWS KMS 兼容服务, endpoint 通常无需指定。

若要使用文件方式指定主密钥,主密钥配置应如下所示:

[security.encryption.master-key]
type = "file"
path = "/path/to/key/file"

以上示例中,path 为密钥文件的路径。该文件须包含一个 256 位(32 字节)的十六进制字符串,并以换行符结尾(即 \n),且不包含其他任何内容。密钥文件示例如下:

3b5896b5be691006e0f71c3040a29495ddcad20b14aff61806940ebd780d3c62

轮换主密钥

要轮换主密钥,你必须在配置中同时指定新的主密钥和旧的主密钥,然后重启 TiKV。用 security.encryption.master-key 指定新的主密钥,用 security.encryption.previous-master-key 指定旧的主密钥。security.encryption.previous-master-key 配置的格式与 encryption.master-key 相同。重启时,TiKV 必须能同时访问旧主密钥和新主密钥,但一旦 TiKV 启动并运行,就只需访问新密钥。此后,可以将 encryption.previous-master-key 项保留在配置文件中。即使重启时,TiKV 也只会在无法使用新的主密钥解密现有数据时尝试使用旧密钥。

TiKV 当前不支持在线轮换主密钥,因此你需要重启 TiKV 进行主密钥轮换。建议对运行中的、提供在线查询的 TiKV 集群进行滚动重启。

轮换 KMS CMK 的配置示例如下:

[security.encryption.master-key]
type = "kms"
key-id = "50a0c603-1c6f-11e6-bb9e-3fadde80ce75"
region = "us-west-2"

[security.encryption.previous-master-key]
type = "kms"
key-id = "0987dcba-09fe-87dc-65ba-ab0987654321"
region = "us-west-2"

监控和调试

要监控静态加密(如果 TiKV 中部署了 Grafana 组件),可以查看 TiKV-Details -> Encryption 面板中的监控项:

  • Encryption initialized:如果在 TiKV 启动期间初始化了加密,则为 1,否则为 0。进行主密钥轮换时可通过该监控项确认主密钥轮换是否已完成。
  • Encryption data keys:现有数据密钥的数量。每次轮换数据密钥后,该数字都会增加 1。通过此监控指标可以监测数据密钥是否按预期轮换。
  • Encrypted files:当前的加密数据文件数量。为先前未加密的群集启用加密时,将此数量与数据目录中的当前数据文件进行比较,可通过此监控指标估计已经被加密的数据量。
  • Encryption meta file size:加密元数据文件的大小。
  • Read/Write encryption meta duration:对用于加密的元数据进行操作带来的额外开销。

在调试方面,可使用 tikv-ctl 命令查看加密元数据(例如使用的加密方法和数据密钥列表)。该操作可能会暴露密钥,因此不推荐在生产环境中使用。详情参阅 TiKV Control

BR S3 服务端加密

使用 BR 备份数据到 S3 时,若要启用 S3 服务端加密,需要传递 --s3.sse 参数并将参数值设置为 aws:kms。S3 将使用自己的 KMS 密钥进行加密。示例如下:

./br backup full --pd <pd-address> --storage "s3://<bucket>/<prefix>" --s3.sse aws:kms

若要使用用户创建和拥有的自定义 AWS KMS CMK,需另外传递 --s3.sse-kms-key-id 参数。此时,BR 进程和集群中的所有 TiKV 节点都需访问该 KMS CMK(例如,通过 AWS IAM),并且该 KMS CMK 必须与存储备份的 S3 bucket 位于同一 AWS 区域。建议通过 AWS IAM 向 BR 进程和 TiKV 节点授予对 KMS CMK 的访问权限。参见 AWS 文档中的 IAM。示例如下:

./br backup full --pd <pd-address> --storage "s3://<bucket>/<prefix>" --s3.region <region> --s3.sse aws:kms --s3.sse-kms-key-id 0987dcba-09fe-87dc-65ba-ab0987654321

恢复备份时,不需要也不可指定 --s3.sse--s3.sse-kms-key-id 参数。S3 将自动相应进行解密。用于恢复备份数据的 BR 进程和集群中的 TiKV 节点也需要访问 KMS CMK,否则恢复将失败。示例如下:

./br restore full --pd <pd-address> --storage "s3://<bucket>/<prefix> --s3.region <region>"

TiFlash 静态加密 从 v4.0.5 版本开始引入

TiFlash 从 v4.0.5 起支持静态加密。数据密钥由 TiFlash 生成。TiFlash(包括 TiFlash Proxy)写入的所有文件,包括数据文件、Schema 文件、临时文件等,均由当前数据密钥加密。TiFlash 支持的加密算法、加密配置方法(配置项在 tiflash-learner.toml 中)和监控项含义等均与 TiKV 一致。

如果 TiFlash 中部署了 Grafana 组件,可以查看 TiFlash-Proxy-Details -> Encryption

Doc Menu

Encryption at Rest for TiKV New in v4.0.0

Encryption at rest means that data is encrypted when it is stored. For databases, this feature is also referred to as TDE (transparent data encryption). This is opposed to encryption in flight (TLS) or encryption in use (rarely used). Different things could be doing encryption at rest (SSD drive, file system, cloud vendor, etc), but by having TiKV do the encryption before storage this helps ensure that attackers must authenticate with the database to gain access to data. For example, when an attacker gains access to the physical machine, data cannot be accessed by copying files on disk.

TiKV supports encryption at rest starting from v4.0.0. The feature allows TiKV to transparently encrypt data files using AES in CTR mode. To enable encryption at rest, an encryption key must be provided by user and this key is called master key. The master key can be provided via AWS KMS (recommended), or specifying a key stored as plaintext in a file. TiKV automatically rotates data keys that it used to encrypt actual data files. Manually rotating the master key can be done occasionally. Note that encryption at rest only encrypts data at rest (i.e. on disk) and not while data is transferred over network. It is advised to use TLS together with encryption at rest.

Also from v4.0.0, BR supports S3 server-side encryption (SSE) when backing up to S3. A customer owned AWS KMS key can also be used together with S3 server-side encryption.

Caveats

The current version of TiKV encryption has some drawbacks that we are working actively to address in the future versions.

  • When a TiDB cluster is deployed, the majority of user data is stored in TiKV nodes, and that data will be encrypted when encryption is enabled. However, a small amount of user data is stored in PD nodes as metadata (for example, secondary index keys used as TiKV region boundaries). As of v4.0.0, PD doesn't support encryption at rest. It is recommended to use storage-level encryption (for example, file system encryption) to help protect sensitive data stored in PD.
  • TiFlash supports encryption at rest since v4.0.5. For details, refer to Encryption at Rest for TiFlash. When deploying TiKV with TiFlash earlier than v4.0.5, data stored in TiFlash is not encrypted.
  • TiKV currently does not exclude encryption keys and user data from core dumps. It is advised to disable core dumps for the TiKV process when using encryption at rest. This is not currently handled by TiKV itself.
  • TiKV tracks encrypted data files using the absolute path of the files. As a result, once encryption is turned on for a TiKV node, the user should not change data file paths config such as storage.data-dir, raftstore.raftdb-path, rocksdb.wal-dir and raftdb.wal-dir.
  • TiKV info log contains user data for debugging purposes. The info log and this data in it are not encrypted.

TiKV encryption at rest

Overview

TiKV currently supports encrypting data using AES128, AES192 or AES256, in CTR mode. TiKV uses envelope encryption. As a result, two types of keys are used in TiKV when encryption is enabled.

  • Master key. The master key is provided by user and is used to encrypt the data keys TiKV generates. Management of master key is external to TiKV.
  • Data key. The data key is generated by TiKV and is the key actually used to encrypt data. The data key is automatically rotated by TiKV.

The same master key can be shared by multiple instances of TiKV. The recommended way to provide a master key in production is via AWS KMS. Create a customer master key (CMK) through AWS KMS, and then provide the CMK key ID to TiKV in the config file. The TiKV process needs access to the KMS CMK while it is running, which can be done by using an IAM role. If TiKV fails to get access to the KMS CMK, it will fail to start or restart. Refer to AWS documentation for KMS and IAM usage.

Alternatively, if using custom key is desired, supplying the master key via file is also supported. The file needs to contain a 256 bits (or 32 bytes) key encoded as hex string. The file should end with a newline (i.e. \n) and contain nothing else. Persisting the key on disk, however, leaks the key, so the key file is only suitable to be stored on the tempfs in RAM.

Data keys are generated by TiKV and passed to the underlying storage engine (i.e. RocksDB). All files written by RocksDB, including SST files, WAL files, and the MANIFEST file, are encrypted by the current data key. Other temporary files used by TiKV that may include user data are also encrypted using the same data key. Data keys are automatically rotated by TiKV every week by default, but the period is configurable. On key rotation, TiKV does not rewrite all existing files to replace the key, but RocksDB compaction are expected to rewrite old data into new data files, with the most recent data key, if the cluster gets constant write workload. TiKV keeps track of the key and encryption method used to encrypt each of the files and use the information to decrypt the content on reads.

Regardless of data encryption method, data keys are encrypted using AES256 in GCM mode for additional authentication. This required the master key to be 256 bits (32 bytes), when passing from file instead of KMS.

Configuring encryption

To enable encryption, you can add the encryption section in TiKV's config file:

[security.encryption]
data-encryption-method = aes128-ctr
data-key-rotation-period = 7d

Possible values for data-encryption-method are "aes128-ctr", "aes192-ctr", "aes256-ctr" and "plaintext". The default value is "plaintext", which means encryption is not turned on. data-key-rotation-period defines how often TiKV rotates the data key. Encryption can be turned on for a fresh TiKV cluster, or an existing TiKV cluster, though only data written after encryption is enabled is guaranteed to be encrypted. To disable encryption, remove data-encryption-method in the config file, or reset it to "plaintext", and restart TiKV. To change encryption method, update data-encryption-method in the config file and restart TiKV.

The master key has to be specified if encryption is enabled (i.e. data-encryption-method is not "plaintext"). To specify a AWS KMS CMK as master key, add the encryption.master-key section after the encryption section:

[security.encryption.master-key]
type = "kms"
key-id = "0987dcba-09fe-87dc-65ba-ab0987654321"
region = "us-west-2"
endpoint = "https://kms.us-west-2.amazonaws.com"

The key-id specifies the key id for the KMS CMK. The region is the AWS region name for the KMS CMK. The endpoint is optional and doesn't need to be specified normally, unless you are using a AWS KMS compatible service from a non-AWS vendor.

To specify a master key that's stored in a file, the master key config would look like the following:

[security.encryption.master-key]
type = "file"
path = "/path/to/key/file"

Here path is the path to the key file. The file must contain a 256 bits (or 16 bytes) key encoded as hex string, end with a newline (\n) and contain nothing else. Example of the file content:

3b5896b5be691006e0f71c3040a29495ddcad20b14aff61806940ebd780d3c62

Rotating the master key

To rotate master key, you have to specify both of the new master key and old master key in the config, and restart TiKV. Use security.encryption.master-key to specify the new master key, and use security.encryption.previous-master-key to specify the old master key. The config format for security.encryption.previous-master-key is the same as encryption.master-key. On restart TiKV must access both of the old and new master key, but once TiKV is up and running, TiKV will only need access to the new key. It is okay to leave the encryption.previous-master-key config in the config file from that on. Even on restart, TiKV only tries to use the old key if it fails to decrypt existing data using the new master key.

Currently online master key rotation is not supported, so you need to restart TiKV. It is advised to do a rolling restart to a running TiKV cluster serving online query.

Here is an example config for rotating the KMS CMK:

[security.encryption.master-key]
type = "kms"
key-id = "50a0c603-1c6f-11e6-bb9e-3fadde80ce75"
region = "us-west-2"

[security.encryption.previous-master-key]
type = "kms"
key-id = "0987dcba-09fe-87dc-65ba-ab0987654321"
region = "us-west-2"

Monitoring and debugging

To monitor encryption at rest, if you deploy TiKV with Grafana, you can look at the Encryption panel in the TiKV-Details dashboard. There are a few metrics to look for:

  • Encryption initialized: 1 if encryption is initialized during TiKV startup, 0 otherwise. In case of master key rotation, after encryption is initialized, TiKV do not need access to the previous master key.
  • Encryption data keys: number of existing data keys. The number is bumped by 1 after each time data key rotation happened. Use this metrics to monitor if data key rotation works as expected.
  • Encrypted files: number of encrypted data files currently exists. Compare this number to existing data files in the data directory to estimate portion of data being encrypted, when turning on encryption for a previously unencrypted cluster.
  • Encryption meta file size: size of the encryption meta data files.
  • Read/Write encryption meta duration: the extra overhead to operate on metadata for encryption.

For debugging, the tikv-ctl command can be used to dump encryption metadata such as encryption method and data key id used to encryption the file, as well as list of data keys. Since the operation can expose sensitive data, it is not recommended to use in production. Please refer to [TiKV Control](/tikv-control.md#dump-encryption-metadata] document.

BR S3 server-side encryption

To enable S3 server-side encryption when backup to S3 using BR, pass --s3.sse argument and set value to "aws:kms". S3 will use its own KMS key for encryption. Example:

./br backup full --pd <pd-address> --storage "s3://<bucket>/<prefix>" --s3.sse aws:kms

To use a custom AWS KMS CMK that you created and owned, pass --s3.sse-kms-key-id in addition. In this case, both the BR process and all the TiKV nodes in the cluster would need access to the KMS CMK (e.g. via AWS IAM), and the KMS CMK needs to be in the same AWS region as the S3 bucket used to store the backup. It is advised to grant access to the KMS CMK to BR process and TiKV nodes via AWS IAM. Refer to AWS documentation for usage of IAM. For example:

./br backup full --pd <pd-address> --storage "s3://<bucket>/<prefix>" --s3.region <region> --s3.sse aws:kms --s3.sse-kms-key-id 0987dcba-09fe-87dc-65ba-ab0987654321

When restoring the backup, both --s3.sse and --s3.sse-kms-key-id should NOT be used. S3 will figure out encryption settings by itself. The BR process and TiKV nodes in the cluster to restore the backup to would also need access to the KMS CMK, or the restore will fail. Example:

./br restore full --pd <pd-address> --storage "s3://<bucket>/<prefix> --s3.region <region>"

Encryption at rest for TiFlash New in v4.0.5

TiFlash supports encryption at rest since v4.0.5. Data keys are generated by TiFlash. All files (including data files, schema files, and temporary files) written into TiFlash (including TiFlash Proxy) are encrypted using the current data key. The encryption algorithms, the encryption configuration (in the tiflash-learner.toml file) supported by TiFlash, and the meanings of monitoring metrics are consistent with those of TiKV.

If you have deployed TiFlash with Grafana, you can check the TiFlash-Proxy-Details -> Encryption panel.