TiDB 快照备份与恢复使用指南

本文介绍如何使用 br 命令行工具进行 TiDB 快照备份和恢复。使用前,请先安装 br 命令行工具

快照备份是集群全量备份的一种实现。它基于 TiDB 的多版本并发控制 (MVCC) 实现,将指定快照包含的所有数据备份到目标存储中。备份下来的数据大小约等于集群(压缩后的)单副本数据大小。备份完成之后,你可以在一个空集群或不存在数据冲突(相同 schema 或 table)的集群执行快照备份恢复,将集群恢复到快照备份时的数据状态,同时恢复功能会依据集群副本设置恢复出多副本。

除了基础的备份和恢复功能,快照备份和恢复还提供以下功能:

对集群进行快照备份

使用 br backup full 可以进行一次快照备份。该命令的详细使用帮助可以通过执行 br backup full --help 查看。

tiup br backup full --pd "${PD_IP}:2379" \ --backupts '2022-09-08 13:30:00 +08:00' \ --storage "s3://backup-101/snapshot-202209081330?access-key=${access-key}&secret-access-key=${secret-access-key}" \ --ratelimit 128 \

以上命令中:

  • --backupts:快照对应的物理时间点,格式可以是 TSO 或者时间戳,例如 400036290571534337 或者 2018-05-11 01:42:23 +08:00。如果该快照的数据被垃圾回收 (GC) 了,那么 tiup br backup 命令会报错并退出。使用日期方式备份时,建议同时指定时区,否则 br 默认使用本地时间构造时间戳,可能导致备份时间点错误。如果你没有指定该参数,那么 br 会选取备份开始的时间点所对应的快照。
  • --storage:数据备份到的存储地址。快照备份支持以 Amazon S3、Google Cloud Storage、Azure Blob Storage 为备份存储,以上命令以 Amazon S3 为示例。详细存储地址格式请参考外部存储服务的 URI 格式
  • --ratelimit每个 TiKV 备份数据的速度上限,单位为 MiB/s。

在快照备份过程中,终端会显示备份进度条。在备份完成后,会输出备份耗时、速度、备份数据大小等信息。

Full Backup <-------------------------------------------------------------------------------> 100.00% Checksum <----------------------------------------------------------------------------------> 100.00% *** ["Full Backup success summary"] *** [backup-checksum=3.597416ms] [backup-fast-checksum=2.36975ms] *** [total-take=4.715509333s] [BackupTS=435844546560000000] [total-kv=1131] [total-kv-size=250kB] [average-speed=53.02kB/s] [backup-data-size(after-compressed)=71.33kB] [Size=71330]

查询快照备份的时间点信息

出于管理备份数的需要,如果你需要查看某个快照备份对应的快照物理时间点,可以执行下面的命令:

tiup br validate decode --field="end-version" \ --storage "s3://backup-101/snapshot-202209081330?access-key=${access-key}&secret-access-key=${secret-access-key}" | tail -n1

结果输出如下,对应物理时间 2022-09-08 13:30:00 +0800 CST

435844546560000000

恢复快照备份数据

如果你需要恢复备份的快照数据,则可以使用 br restore full。该命令的详细使用帮助可以通过执行 br restore full --help 查看。

上文备份的快照数据恢复到目标集群:

tiup br restore full --pd "${PD_IP}:2379" \ --storage "s3://backup-101/snapshot-202209081330?access-key=${access-key}&secret-access-key=${secret-access-key}"

在恢复快照备份数据过程中,终端会显示恢复进度条。在完成恢复后,会输出恢复耗时、速度、恢复数据大小等信息。

Full Restore <------------------------------------------------------------------------------> 100.00% *** ["Full Restore success summary"] *** [total-take=4.344617542s] [total-kv=5] [total-kv-size=327B] [average-speed=75.27B/s] [restore-data-size(after-compressed)=4.813kB] [Size=4813] [BackupTS=435844901803917314]

恢复备份数据中指定库表的数据

br 命令行工具支持只恢复备份数据中指定库、表的部分数据,该功能用于在恢复过程中过滤不需要的数据。

恢复单个数据库的数据

要将备份数据中的某个数据库恢复到集群中,可以使用 br restore db 命令。以下示例只恢复 test 库的数据:

tiup br restore db --pd "${PD_IP}:2379" \ --db "test" \ --storage "s3://backup-101/snapshot-202209081330?access-key=${access-key}&secret-access-key=${secret-access-key}"

以上命令中 --db 选项指定了需要恢复的数据库名。

恢复单张表的数据

要将备份数据中的某张数据表恢复到集群中,可以使用 br restore table 命令。以下示例只恢复 test.usertable 表的数据:

tiup br restore table --pd "${PD_IP}:2379" \ --db "test" \ --table "usertable" \ --storage "s3://backup-101/snapshot-202209081330?access-key=${access-key}&secret-access-key=${secret-access-key}"

以上命令中 --db 选项指定了需要恢复的数据库名,--table 选项指定了需要恢复的表名。

使用表库过滤功能恢复部分数据

要通过复杂的过滤条件恢复多个表,可以使用 br restore full 命令,并用 --filter-f 指定表库过滤的条件。以下示例恢复符合 db*.tbl* 条件的表的数据:

tiup br restore full --pd "${PD_IP}:2379" \ --filter 'db*.tbl*' \ --storage "s3://backup-101/snapshot-202209081330?access-key=${access-key}&secret-access-key=${secret-access-key}"

恢复 mysql 数据库下的表

  • br v5.1.0 开始,快照备份时默认自动备份 mysql schema 下的系统表数据,但恢复数据时默认不恢复系统表数据。
  • br v6.2.0 开始,增加恢复参数 --with-sys-table 支持恢复数据的同时恢复部分系统表相关数据
  • br v7.6.0 开始,恢复参数 --with-sys-table 默认开启,即默认支持恢复数据的同时恢复部分系统表相关数据

可恢复的部分系统表

+----------------------------------+ | mysql.columns_priv | | mysql.db | | mysql.default_roles | | mysql.global_grants | | mysql.global_priv | | mysql.role_edges | | mysql.tables_priv | | mysql.user | | mysql.bind_info | +----------------------------------+

不能恢复以下系统表

+-----------------------------------------------------+ | capture_plan_baselines_blacklist | | column_stats_usage | | gc_delete_range | | gc_delete_range_done | | global_variables | | schema_index_usage | | stats_buckets | | stats_extended | | stats_feedback | | stats_fm_sketch | | stats_histograms | | stats_history | | stats_meta | | stats_meta_history | | stats_table_locked | | stats_top_n | | tidb | +-----------------------------------------------------+

当恢复系统权限相关数据的时候,请注意:在恢复数据前 BR 会检查目标集群的系统表是否跟备份数据中的系统表兼容。这里的兼容是指满足以下所有条件:

  • 目标集群需要存在备份中的系统权限表。
  • 目标集群系统权限表列数需要与备份数据中一致,列的顺序可以有差异。
  • 目标集群系统权限表的列需要与备份数据兼容。如果为带长度类型(包括整型、字符串等类型),前者长度需大于或等于后者,如果为 ENUM 类型,则应该为后者超集。

性能与影响

快照备份的性能与影响

TiDB 备份功能对集群性能(事务延迟和 QPS)有一定的影响,但是可以通过调整备份的线程数 backup.num-threads,以及增加集群配置,来降低备份对集群性能的影响。

为了更加具体说明备份对集群的影响,下面列举了多次快照备份测试结论来说明影响的范围:

  • (使用 5.3 及之前版本)在默认配置下,单 TiKV 存储节点上备份线程数量是节点 CPU 总数量的 75% 时,QPS 会下降到备份之前的 35% 左右。
  • (使用 5.4 及以后版本)单 TiKV 存储节点上备份的线程数量不大于 8、集群总 CPU 利用率不超过 80% 时,备份任务对集群(无论读写负载)影响最大在 20% 左右。
  • (使用 5.4 及以后版本)单 TiKV 存储节点上备份的线程数量不大于 8、集群总 CPU 利用率不超过 75% 时,备份任务对集群(无论读写负载)影响最大在 10% 左右。
  • (使用 5.4 及以后版本)单 TiKV 存储节点上备份的线程数量不大于 8、集群总 CPU 利用率不超过 60% 时,备份任务对集群(无论读写负载)几乎没有影响。

你可以通过如下方案手动控制备份对集群性能带来的影响。但是,这两种方案在减少备份对集群的影响的同时,也会降低备份任务的速度。

  • 使用 --ratelimit 参数对备份任务进行限速。请注意,这个参数限制的是把备份文件存储到外部存储的速度。计算备份文件的大小时,请以备份日志中的 backup data size(after compressed) 为准。设置 --ratelimit 后,为了避免任务数过多导致限速失效,br 的 concurrency 参数会自动调整为 1。
  • 调节 TiKV 配置项 backup.num-threads,限制备份任务使用的工作线程数量。内部测试数据表明,当备份的线程数量不大于 8、集群总 CPU 利用率不超过 60% 时,备份任务对集群(无论读写负载)几乎没有影响。

通过限制备份的线程数量可以降低备份对集群性能的影响,但是这会影响到备份的性能,以上的多次备份测试结果显示,单 TiKV 存储节点上备份速度和备份线程数量呈正比。在线程数量较少的时候,备份速度约为 20 MiB/线程数。例如,单 TiKV 节点 5 个备份线程可达到 100 MiB/s 的备份速度。

快照恢复的性能与影响

  • TiDB 恢复的时候会尽可能打满 TiKV CPU、磁盘 IO、网络带宽等资源,所以推荐在空的集群上执行备份数据的恢复,避免对正在运行的业务产生影响。

  • 备份数据的恢复速度与集群配置、部署、运行的业务都有比较大的关系。在内部多场景仿真测试中,单 TiKV 存储节点上备份数据恢复速度能够达到 100 MiB/s。在不同用户场景下,快照恢复的性能和影响应以实际测试结论为准。

  • BR 提供了粗粒度的 Region 打散算法,用于提升大规模 Region 场景下的 Region 恢复速度。该算法通过命令行参数 --granularity="coarse-grained" 控制,并默认启用。在这个方式下每个 TiKV 节点会得到均匀稳定的下载任务,从而充分利用每个 TiKV 节点的所有资源实现并行快速恢复。在实际案例中,大规模 Region 场景下,集群快照恢复速度最高提升约 3 倍。使用示例如下:

    br restore full \ --pd "${PDIP}:2379" \ --storage "s3://${Bucket}/${Folder}" \ --s3.region "${region}" \ --granularity "coarse-grained" \ --send-credentials-to-tikv=true \ --log-file restorefull.log
  • 从 v8.0.0 起,br 命令行工具新增 --tikv-max-restore-concurrency 参数,用于控制每个 TiKV 节点的最大 download 和 ingest 文件数量。此外,通过调整此参数,可以控制作业队列的最大长度(作业队列的最大长度 = 32 * TiKV 节点数量 * --tikv-max-restore-concurrency),进而控制 BR 节点的内存消耗。

    通常情况下,--tikv-max-restore-concurrency 会根据集群配置自动调整,无需手动设置。如果通过 Grafana 中的 TiKV-Details > Backup & Import > Import RPC count 监控指标发现 download 文件数量长时间接近于 0,而 ingest 文件数量一直处于上限时,说明 ingest 文件任务存在堆积,并且作业队列已达到最大长度。此时,可以采取以下措施来缓解任务堆积问题:

    • 设置 --ratelimit 参数来限制下载速度,以确保 ingest 文件任务有足够的资源。例如,当任意 TiKV 节点的硬盘吞吐量为 x MiB/s 且下载备份文件的网络带宽大于 x/2 MiB/s,可以设置参数 --ratelimit x/2。如果任意 TiKV 节点的硬盘吞吐量为 x MiB/s 且下载备份文件的网络带宽小于或等于 x/2 MiB/s,可以不设置参数 --ratelimit
    • 调高 --tikv-max-restore-concurrency 来增加作业队列的最大长度。

探索更多

文档内容是否有帮助?

下载 PDF文档反馈社区交流
产品
TiDB
TiDB Dedicated
TiDB Serverless
© 2024 PingCAP. All Rights Reserved.
Privacy Policy.

Sign InTry Free

Snapshot Backup and Restore Guide

This document describes how to back up and restore TiDB snapshots using the br command-line tool (hereinafter referred to as br). Before backing up and restoring data, you need to install the br command-line tool first.

Snapshot backup is an implementation to back up the entire cluster. It is based on multi-version concurrency control (MVCC) and backs up all data in the specified snapshot to a target storage. The size of the backup data is approximately the size of the compressed single replica in the cluster. After the backup is completed, you can restore the backup data to an empty cluster or a cluster that does not contain conflict data (with the same schema or same tables), restore the cluster to the time point of the snapshot backup, and restore multiple replicas according to the cluster replica settings.

Besides basic backup and restore, snapshot backup and restore also provides the following features:

Back up cluster snapshots

You can back up a TiDB cluster snapshot by running the br backup full command. Run br backup full --help to see the help information:

tiup br backup full --pd "${PD_IP}:2379" \ --backupts '2022-09-08 13:30:00 +08:00' \ --storage "s3://backup-101/snapshot-202209081330?access-key=${access-key}&secret-access-key=${secret-access-key}" \ --ratelimit 128 \

In the preceding command:

  • --backupts: The time point of the snapshot. The format can be TSO or timestamp, such as 400036290571534337 or 2018-05-11 01:42:23 +08:00. If the data of this snapshot is garbage collected, the br backup command returns an error and br exits. When backing up using a timestamp, it is recommended to specify the time zone as well. Otherwise, br uses the local time zone to construct the timestamp by default, which might lead to an incorrect backup time point. If you leave this parameter unspecified, br picks the snapshot corresponding to the backup start time.
  • --storage: The storage address of the backup data. Snapshot backup supports Amazon S3, Google Cloud Storage, and Azure Blob Storage as backup storage. The preceding command uses Amazon S3 as an example. For more details, see URI Formats of External Storage Services.
  • --ratelimit: The maximum speed per TiKV performing backup tasks. The unit is in MiB/s.

During backup, a progress bar is displayed in the terminal as shown below. When the progress bar advances to 100%, the backup task is completed and statistics such as total backup time, average backup speed, and backup data size are displayed.

Full Backup <-------------------------------------------------------------------------------> 100.00% Checksum <----------------------------------------------------------------------------------> 100.00% *** ["Full Backup success summary"] *** [backup-checksum=3.597416ms] [backup-fast-checksum=2.36975ms] *** [total-take=4.715509333s] [BackupTS=435844546560000000] [total-kv=1131] [total-kv-size=250kB] [average-speed=53.02kB/s] [backup-data-size(after-compressed)=71.33kB] [Size=71330]

Get the backup time point of a snapshot backup

To manage a lot of backups, if you need to get the physical time of a snapshot backup, you can run the following command:

tiup br validate decode --field="end-version" \ --storage "s3://backup-101/snapshot-202209081330?access-key=${access-key}&secret-access-key=${secret-access-key}" | tail -n1

The output is as follows, corresponding to the physical time 2022-09-08 13:30:00 +0800 CST:

435844546560000000

Restore cluster snapshots

You can restore a snapshot backup by running the br restore full command. Run br restore full --help to see the help information:

The following example restores the preceding backup snapshot to a target cluster:

tiup br restore full --pd "${PD_IP}:2379" \ --storage "s3://backup-101/snapshot-202209081330?access-key=${access-key}&secret-access-key=${secret-access-key}"

During restore, a progress bar is displayed in the terminal as shown below. When the progress bar advances to 100%, the restore task is completed and statistics such as total restore time, average restore speed, and total data size are displayed.

Full Restore <------------------------------------------------------------------------------> 100.00% *** ["Full Restore success summary"] *** [total-take=4.344617542s] [total-kv=5] [total-kv-size=327B] [average-speed=75.27B/s] [restore-data-size(after-compressed)=4.813kB] [Size=4813] [BackupTS=435844901803917314]

Restore a database or a table

BR supports restoring partial data of a specified database or table from backup data. This feature allows you to filter out unwanted data and back up only a specific database or table.

Restore a database

To restore a database to a cluster, run the br restore db command. The following example restores the test database from the backup data to the target cluster:

tiup br restore db \ --pd "${PD_IP}:2379" \ --db "test" \ --storage "s3://backup-101/snapshot-202209081330?access-key=${access-key}&secret-access-key=${secret-access-key}"

In the preceding command, --db specifies the name of the database to be restored.

Restore a table

To restore a single table to a cluster, run the br restore table command. The following example restores the test.usertable table from the backup data to the target cluster:

tiup br restore table --pd "${PD_IP}:2379" \ --db "test" \ --table "usertable" \ --storage "s3://backup-101/snapshot-202209081330?access-key=${access-key}&secret-access-key=${secret-access-key}"

In the preceding command, --db specifies the name of the database to be restored, and --table specifies the name of the table to be restored.

Restore multiple tables with table filter

To restore multiple tables with more complex filter rules, run the br restore full command and specify the table filters with --filter or -f. The following example restores tables that match the db*.tbl* filter rule from the backup data to the target cluster:

tiup br restore full \ --pd "${PD_IP}:2379" \ --filter 'db*.tbl*' \ --storage "s3://backup-101/snapshot-202209081330?access-key=${access-key}&secret-access-key=${secret-access-key}"

Restore tables in the mysql schema

  • Starting from BR v5.1.0, when you back up snapshots, BR automatically backs up the system tables in the mysql schema, but does not restore these system tables by default.
  • Starting from v6.2.0, BR lets you specify --with-sys-table to restore data in some system tables.
  • Starting from v7.6.0, BR enables --with-sys-table by default, which means that BR restores data in some system tables by default.

BR can restore data in the following system tables:

+----------------------------------+ | mysql.columns_priv | | mysql.db | | mysql.default_roles | | mysql.global_grants | | mysql.global_priv | | mysql.role_edges | | mysql.tables_priv | | mysql.user | | mysql.bind_info | +----------------------------------+

BR does not restore the following system tables:

+-----------------------------------------------------+ | capture_plan_baselines_blacklist | | column_stats_usage | | gc_delete_range | | gc_delete_range_done | | global_variables | | schema_index_usage | | stats_buckets | | stats_extended | | stats_feedback | | stats_fm_sketch | | stats_histograms | | stats_history | | stats_meta | | stats_meta_history | | stats_table_locked | | stats_top_n | | tidb | +-----------------------------------------------------+

When you restore data related to system privilege, note that before restoring data, BR checks whether the system tables in the target cluster are compatible with those in the backup data. "Compatible" means that all the following conditions are met:

  • The target cluster has the same system tables as the backup data.
  • The number of columns in the system privilege table of the target cluster is the same as that in the backup data. The column order is not important.
  • The columns in the system privilege table of the target cluster are compatible with that in the backup data. If the data type of the column is a type with a length (such as integer and string), the length in the target cluster must be >= the length in the backup data. If the data type of the column is an ENUM type, the number of ENUM values in the target cluster must be a superset of that in the backup data.

Performance and impact

Performance and impact of snapshot backup

The backup feature has some impact on cluster performance (transaction latency and QPS). However, you can mitigate the impact by adjusting the number of backup threads backup.num-threads or by adding more clusters.

To illustrate the impact of backup, this document lists the test conclusions of several snapshot backup tests:

  • (5.3.0 and earlier) When the backup threads of BR on a TiKV node take up 75% of the total CPU of the node, the QPS is reduced by 35% of the original QPS.
  • (5.4.0 and later) When there are no more than 8 threads of BR on a TiKV node and the cluster's total CPU utilization does not exceed 80%, the impact of BR tasks on the cluster (write and read) is 20% at most.
  • (5.4.0 and later) When there are no more than 8 threads of BR on a TiKV node and the cluster's total CPU utilization does not exceed 75%, the impact of BR tasks on the cluster (write and read) is 10% at most.
  • (5.4.0 and later) When there are no more than 8 threads of BR on a TiKV node and the cluster's total CPU utilization does not exceed 60%, BR tasks have little impact on the cluster (write and read).

You can use the following methods to manually control the impact of backup tasks on cluster performance. However, these two methods also reduce the speed of backup tasks while reducing the impact of backup tasks on the cluster.

  • Use the --ratelimit parameter to limit the speed of backup tasks. Note that this parameter limits the speed of saving backup files to external storage. When calculating the total size of backup files, use the backup data size(after compressed) as a benchmark. When --ratelimit is set, to avoid too many tasks causing the speed limit to fail, the concurrency parameter of br is automatically adjusted to 1.
  • Adjust the TiKV configuration item backup.num-threads to limit the number of threads used by backup tasks. According to internal tests, when BR uses no more than 8 threads for backup tasks, and the total CPU utilization of the cluster does not exceed 60%, the backup tasks have little impact on the cluster, regardless of the read and write workload.

The impact of backup on cluster performance can be reduced by limiting the backup threads number, but this affects the backup performance. The preceding tests show that the backup speed is proportional to the number of backup threads. When the number of threads is small, the backup speed is about 20 MiB/thread. For example, 5 backup threads on a single TiKV node can reach a backup speed of 100 MiB/s.

Performance and impact of snapshot restore

  • During data restore, TiDB tries to fully utilize the TiKV CPU, disk IO, and network bandwidth resources. Therefore, it is recommended to restore the backup data on an empty cluster to avoid affecting the running applications.

  • The speed of restoring backup data is much related with the cluster configuration, deployment, and running applications. In internal tests, the restore speed of a single TiKV node can reach 100 MiB/s. The performance and impact of snapshot restore are varied in different user scenarios and should be tested in actual environments.

  • BR provides a coarse-grained Region scattering algorithm to accelerate Region restore in large-scale Region scenarios. The algorithm is controlled by the command-line parameter --granularity="coarse-grained" and is enabled by default. This algorithm ensures that each TiKV node receives stable and evenly distributed download tasks, thus fully utilizing the resources of each TiKV node and achieving a rapid parallel recovery. In several real-world cases, the snapshot restore speed of the cluster is improved by about 3 times in large-scale Region scenarios. The following is an example:

    br restore full \ --pd "${PDIP}:2379" \ --storage "s3://${Bucket}/${Folder}" \ --s3.region "${region}" \ --granularity "coarse-grained" \ --send-credentials-to-tikv=true \ --log-file restorefull.log
  • Starting from v8.0.0, the br command-line tool introduces the --tikv-max-restore-concurrency parameter to control the maximum number of files that BR downloads and ingests per TiKV node. By configuring this parameter, you can also control the maximum length of the job queue (the maximum length of the job queue = 32 * the number of TiKV nodes * --tikv-max-restore-concurrency), thereby controlling the memory consumption of the BR node.

    In normal cases, --tikv-max-restore-concurrency is automatically adjusted based on the cluster configuration, so manual configuration is unnecessary. If the TiKV-Details > Backup & Import > Import RPC count monitoring metric in Grafana shows that the number of files BR downloads remains close to 0 for a long time while the number of files that BR ingests consistently reaches the upper limit, it indicates that ingesting file tasks pile up and the job queue has reached its maximum length. In this case, you can take the following measures to alleviate the task pilling-up issue:

    • Set the --ratelimit parameter to limit the download speed, ensuring sufficient resources for ingesting file tasks. For example, if the disk throughput of any TiKV node is x MiB/s and the network bandwidth for downloading backup files exceeds x/2 MiB/s, you can set the parameter as --ratelimit x/2. If the disk throughput of any TiKV node is x MiB/s and the network bandwidth for downloading backup files is less than or equal to x/2 MiB/s, you can leave the parameter --ratelimit unset.
    • Increase the --tikv-max-restore-concurrency to increase the maximum length of the job queue.

See also

Was this page helpful?

Download PDFRequest docs changesAsk questions on Discord
Playground
One-stop & interactive experience of TiDB's capabilities WITHOUT registration.
Products
TiDB
TiDB Dedicated
TiDB Serverless
Pricing
Get Demo
Get Started
© 2024 PingCAP. All Rights Reserved.
Privacy Policy.