TiDB 备份与恢复概述

基于 Raft 协议和合理的部署拓扑规划,TiDB 实现了集群的高可用,当集群中少数节点挂掉时,集群依然能对外提供服务。在此基础上,为了更进一步保证用户数据的安全,TiDB 还提供了集群的备份与恢复 (Backup & Restore, BR) 功能,作为数据安全的最后一道防线,使得集群能够免于严重的自然灾害,提供业务误操作“复原”的能力。

TiDB 备份恢复功能可以用于满足以下业务的需求:

  • 备份集群数据到灾备系统,并保证 RPO 低至 10 分钟,减少灾难场景下数据的丢失。
  • 处理业务数据写错的案例,提供业务操作的“复原”能力。
  • 审计业务的历史数据,满足司法审查的需求。
  • 复制 (Clone) 生产环境,方便问题诊断、性能调优验证、仿真测试等。

功能使用

根据 TiDB 部署方式的不同,使用备份恢复功能的方式也不同。本文主要介绍在 On-Premise 物理部署方式下,如何使用 br 命令行工具进行 TiDB 的备份和恢复。

其它 TiDB 的部署方式的备份恢复功能使用,可以参考:

功能介绍

使用备份恢复功能,你可以进行以下两类操作:

  • 对集群进行备份:你可以对集群某个时间点的全量数据进行备份(全量备份),也可以对业务写入在 TiDB 产生的数据变更记录进行备份(日志备份,日志指的是 TiKV 中的 kv 变更数据的记录)。

  • 恢复备份数据:

    • 你可以恢复某个全量备份,或者全量备份中的部分库/表,将目标集群恢复到该全量备份对应的数据状态。
    • 基于备份(全量和日志)数据,你可以指定任意时间点,将目标集群恢复到该时间点所对应的备份集群数据状态 (Point-in-time recovery, PITR)。

备份集群数据

全量备份是对集群某个时间点的全量数据进行备份。TiDB 支持以下方式的全量备份:

  • 快照数据备份:TiDB 集群快照数据包含某个物理时间点上集群满足事务一致性的所有数据。BR 支持备份集群快照数据,使用请参考快照备份

全量备份一般会占用不小的存储空间,且只包含某个时间点的集群数据。如果你需要灵活的选择恢复的时间点,即实现 PITR,可以按以下说明同时使用两种备份方式:

  • 开启日志备份任务后,任务会在所有 TiKV 节点上持续运行,以小批量的形式定期将 TiDB 变更数据备份到指定存储中。
  • 定期执行快照备份,备份集群全量数据到备份存储,例如在每天零点进行集群快照备份。

备份的性能,以及对集群的影响

  • 集群快照数据备份,对 TiDB 集群的影响可以保持在 20% 以下;通过合理的配置 TiDB 集群用于备份资源,影响可以降低到 10% 及更低;单 TiKV 存储节点的备份速度可以达到 50 MB/s ~ 100 MB/s,备份速度具有可扩展性;更详细说明请参考备份性能和影响
  • 单独运行日志备份时影响约在 5%。日志备份每隔 5~10 分钟将上次刷新后产生的变更数据记录刷新到备份存储中,可以实现低至十分钟 RPO 的集群容灾目标

恢复备份数据

与备份功能相对应,你可以进行两种类型的恢复:全量恢复和 PITR。

  • 恢复某个全量备份

    • 恢复集群快照数据备份:你可以在一个空集群或不存在数据冲突(相同 schema 或 table)的集群执行快照备份恢复,将该集群恢复到快照备份对应数据状态。使用请参考恢复快照备份。此外你可以只恢复备份数据中指定库/表的局部数据。该功能在恢复过程中过滤掉不需要的数据。使用请参考恢复备份数据中指定库表的数据
  • 恢复到集群的历史任意时间点 (PITR)

    • 通过 br restore point 功能。你可以指定要恢复的时间点,恢复时间点之前最近的快照数据备份,以及日志备份数据。BR 会自动判断和读取恢复需要的数据,然后将这些数据依次恢复到指定的集群。

恢复的性能

  • 恢复集群快照数据备份,速度可以达到单 TiKV 存储节点 100 MiB/s,恢复速度具有可扩展性;BR 只支持恢复数据到新集群,会尽可能多的使用恢复集群的资源。更详细说明请参考恢复性能和影响
  • 恢复日志备份数据,速度可以达到 30 GiB/h。更详细说明请参考 PITR 性能和影响

备份存储

TiDB 支持将数据备份到 Amazon S3、Google Cloud Storage (GCS)、Azure Blob Storage、NFS,或者实现 S3 协议的其他文件存储服务。更多备份存储的详细信息,请参考如下内容:

使用须知

本部分介绍使用 TiDB 备份恢复功能前的注意事项,包括使用建议和兼容性。

使用建议

进行快照备份

  • 推荐在业务低峰时执行集群快照数据备份,这样能最大程度地减少对业务的影响。
  • 不推荐同时运行多个集群快照数据备份任务。不同的任务并行,不仅会导致备份的性能降低,影响在线业务,还会因为任务之间缺少协调机制造成任务失败,甚至对集群的状态产生影响。

进行快照恢复

  • BR 恢复数据时会尽可能多地占用恢复集群的资源,因此推荐恢复数据到新集群或离线集群。应避免向正在提供服务的生产集群执行恢复,否则,恢复期间会对业务产生不可避免的影响。其中 PITR 仅支持恢复到空集群。

进行 PITR

  • PITR 仅支持集群粒度的恢复,不支持对单个 database 或 table 的恢复。
  • PITR 不支持恢复用户表和权限表的数据。

备份存储和网络配置

  • 推荐使用支持 S3、GCS 或 Azure Blob Storage 协议的存储系统保存备份数据;
  • 应确保 BR、TiKV 节点和备份存储系统有足够的网络带宽,备份存储系统能提供足够的写入和读取性能,否则,它们有可能成为备份恢复时的性能瓶颈。

兼容性

在使用备份恢复功能之前,需要先了解 BR 工具与其他功能的兼容性以及使用限制。

与其他功能的兼容性

某些功能在开启或关闭状态下,会导致备份恢复功能使用出错。因此需要保证恢复集群的这些配置,与备份集群备份时的配置相同。

功能相关 issue解决方式
GBK charsetBR 在 v5.4.0 之前不支持恢复 charset=GBK 的表。并且,任何版本的 BR 都不支持恢复 charset=GBK 的表到 v5.4.0 之前的 TiDB 集群。
聚簇索引#565确保恢复时集群的 tidb_enable_clustered_index 全局变量和备份时一致,否则会导致数据不一致的问题,例如 default not found 和数据索引不一致。
New collation#352确保恢复时集群的 new_collations_enabled_on_first_bootstrap 变量值和备份时的一致,否则会导致数据索引不一致和 checksum 通不过。更多信息,请参考 FAQ - BR 为什么会报 new_collations_enabled_on_first_bootstrap 不匹配?
全局临时表确保使用 BR v5.3.0 及以上版本进行备份和恢复,否则会导致全局临时表的表定义错误。
TiDB Lightning Physical Import上游数据库使用 TiDB Lightning Physical 方式导入的数据,无法作为数据日志备份下来。推荐在数据导入后执行一次全量备份,细节参考上游数据库使用 TiDB Lightning Physical 方式导入数据的恢复

版本间兼容性

BR 内置版本会在执行备份和恢复操作前,对 TiDB 集群版本和自身版本进行对比检查。如果版本之间不兼容,BR 会提示报错并退出。如要跳过版本检查,可以通过设置 --check-requirements=false 强行跳过版本检查。需要注意的是,跳过检查可能会遇到版本不兼容的问题。

恢复版本(横向)\ 备份版本(纵向)恢复到 TiDB v6.0恢复到 TiDB v6.1恢复到 TiDB v6.2恢复到 TiDB v6.3
TiDB v6.0 快照兼容兼容兼容兼容
TiDB v6.1 快照备份兼容(已知问题,如果备份数据中包含空库可能导致报错,参考 #36379兼容兼容兼容
TiDB v6.2 快照备份兼容(已知问题,如果备份数据中包含空库可能导致报错,参考 #36379兼容兼容兼容
TiDB v6.3 快照备份兼容(已知问题,如果备份数据中包含空库可能导致报错,参考 #36379兼容兼容兼容
TiDB v6.3 PITR 日志备份\ \ 不兼容兼容

探索更多

下载 PDF文档反馈社区交流
文档内容是否有帮助?
产品
TiDB
学习
客户案例
PingCAP Education
TiDB in Action
© 2023 PingCAP. All Rights Reserved.

Sign InTry Free

TiDB Backup & Restore Overview

Based on the Raft protocol and a reasonable deployment topology, TiDB realizes high availability of clusters. When a few nodes in the cluster fail, the cluster can still be available. On this basis, to further ensure data safety, TiDB provides the Backup & Restore (BR) feature as the last resort to recover data from natural disasters and misoperations.

BR satisfies the following requirements:

  • Back up cluster data to a disaster recovery (DR) system with an RPO of no more than 10 minutes, reducing data loss in disaster scenarios.
  • Handle the cases of misoperations from applications by rolling back data to a time point before the error event.
  • Perform history data auditing to meet the requirements of judicial supervision.
  • Clone the production environment, which is convenient for troubleshooting, performance tuning, and simulation testing.

Use backup and restore

The way to use BR varies with the deployment method of TiDB. This document introduces how to use the br command-line tool to back up and restore TiDB cluster data in an on-premise deployment.

For information about how to use this feature in other deployment scenarios, see the following documents:

BR features

TiDB BR provides the following features:

  • Back up cluster data: You can back up full data (full backup) of the cluster at a certain time point, or back up the data changes in TiDB (log backup, in which log means KV changes in TiKV).

  • Restore backup data:

    • You can restore a full backup or specific databases or tables in a full backup.
    • Based on backup data (full backup and log backup), you can restore the target cluster to any time point of the backup cluster. This type of restore is called point-in-time recovery, or PITR for short.

Back up cluster data

Full backup backs up all data of a cluster at a specific time point. TiDB supports the following way of full backup:

  • Back up cluster snapshots: A snapshot of a TiDB cluster contains transactionally consistent data at a specific time. For details, see Snapshot backup.

Full backup occupies much storage space and contains only cluster data at a specific time point. If you want to choose the restore point as required, that is, to perform point-in-time recovery (PITR), you can use the following two ways of backup at the same time:

  • Start log backup. After log backup is started, the task keeps running on all TiKV nodes and backs up TiDB incremental data in small batches to the specified storage periodically.
  • Perform snapshot backup regularly. Back up the full cluster data to the backup storage, for example, perform cluster snapshot backup at 0:00 AM every day.

Backup performance and impact on TiDB clusters

  • The impact of backup on a TiDB cluster is kept below 20%, and this value can be reduced to 10% or less with the proper configuration of the TiDB cluster. The backup speed of a TiKV node is scalable and ranges from 50 MB/s to 100 MB/s. For more information, see Backup performance and impact.
  • When there are only log backup tasks, the impact on the cluster is about 5%. Log backup flushes all the changes generated after the last refresh every 5-10 minutes to the backup storage, which can achieve a Recovery Point Objective (RPO) of no more than ten minutes.

Restore backup data

Corresponding to the backup features, you can perform two types of restore: full restore and PITR.

  • Restore a full backup

    • Restore cluster snapshot backup: You can restore snapshot backup data to an empty cluster or a cluster that does not have data conflicts (with the same schema or tables). For details, see Restore snapshot backup. In addition, you can restore specific databases or tables from the backup data and filter out unwanted data. For details, see Restore specific databases or tables from backup data.
  • Restore data to any point in time (PITR)

    • By running the br restore point command, you can restore the latest snapshot backup data before recovery time point and log backup data to a specified time. BR automatically determines the restore scope, accesses backup data, and restores data to the target cluster in turn.

Restore performance and impact on TiDB clusters

  • Data restore is performed at a scalable speed. Generally, the speed is 100 MiB/s per TiKV node. br only supports restoring data to a new cluster and uses the resources of the target cluster as much as possible. For more details, see Restore performance and impact.
  • On each TiKV node, PITR can restore log data at 30 GiB/h. For more details, see PITR performance and impact.

Backup storage

TiDB supports backing up data to Amazon S3, Google Cloud Storage (GCS), Azure Blob Storage, NFS, and other S3-compatible file storage services. For details, see the following documents:

Before you use

This section describes the prerequisites for using TiDB backup and restore, including the usage tips and compatibility issues.

Some tips

Snapshot backup:

  • It is recommended that you perform the backup operation during off-peak hours to minimize the impact on applications.
  • It is recommended that you execute multiple backup or restore operations one by one. Running backup operations in parallel leads to low performance. Worse still, lack of collaboration between multiple tasks might result in task failures and affect cluster performance.

Snapshot restore:

  • BR uses resources of the target cluster as much as possible. Therefore, it is recommended that you restore data to a new cluster or an offline cluster. Avoid restoring data to a production cluster. Otherwise, your application might be affected. PITR only supports restoring data to an empty cluster.

PITR:

  • You can only perform cluster-level PITR. Database-level and table-level PITR are not supported.
  • You cannot restore data in the user tables or the privilege tables.

Backup storage and network configuration:

  • It is recommended that you store backup data to a storage system that is compatible with Amazon S3, GCS, or Azure Blob Storage.
  • You need to ensure that BR, TiKV, and the backup storage system have enough network bandwidth, and the storage system can provide sufficient read and write performance (IOPS). Otherwise, they might become a performance bottleneck during backup and restore.

Compatibility

Compatibility with other features

Backup and restore might go wrong when some TiDB features are enabled or disabled. If these features are not consistently enabled or disabled during backup and restore, compatibility issues might occur.

FeatureIssueSolution
GBK charsetBR of versions earlier than v5.4.0 does not support restoring charset=GBK tables. No version of BR supports recovering charset=GBK tables to TiDB clusters earlier than v5.4.0.
Clustered index#565Make sure that the value of the tidb_enable_clustered_index global variable during restore is consistent with that during backup. Otherwise, data inconsistency might occur, such as default not found error and inconsistent data index.
New collation#352Make sure that the value of the new_collations_enabled_on_first_bootstrap variable during restore is consistent with that during backup. Otherwise, inconsistent data index might occur and checksum might fail to pass. For more information, see FAQ - Why does BR report new_collations_enabled_on_first_bootstrap mismatch?.
Global temporary tablesMake sure that you are using v5.3.0 or a later version of BR to back up and restore data. Otherwise, an error occurs in the definition of the backed global temporary tables.
TiDB Lightning Physical ImportIf the upstream database uses the physical import mode of TiDB Lightning, data cannot be backed up in log backup. It is recommended to perform a full backup after the data import. For more information, see When the upstream database imports data using TiDB Lightning in the physical import mode, the log backup feature becomes unavailable. Why?.

Version compatibility

Before performing backup and restore, BR compares and checks the TiDB cluster version with its own. If there is a major-version mismatch, BR prompts a reminder to exit. To forcibly skip the version check, you can set --check-requirements=false. Note that skipping the version check might introduce incompatibility.

Backup version (vertical) \ Restore version (horizontal)Restore to TiDB v6.0Restore to TiDB v6.1Restore to TiDB v6.2Restore to TiDB v6.3
TiDB v6.0 snapshot backupCompatibleCompatibleCompatibleCompatible
TiDB v6.1 snapshot backupCompatible (A known issue #36379: if backup data contains an empty schema, BR might report an error.)CompatibleCompatibleCompatible
TiDB v6.2 snapshot backupCompatible (A known issue #36379: if backup data contains an empty schema, BR might report an error.)CompatibleCompatibleCompatible
TiDB v6.3 snapshot backupCompatible (A known issue #36379: if backup data contains an empty schema, BR might report an error.)CompatibleCompatibleCompatible
TiDB v6.3 log backupN/AN/AIncompatibleCompatible

See also

Download PDFRequest docs changesAsk questions on TiDB Forum
Was this page helpful?
Open Source Ecosystem
TiDB
TiKV
TiSpark
Chaos Mesh
© 2023 PingCAP. All Rights Reserved.