非事务 DML 语句

本文档介绍非事务 DML 语句的使用场景、使用方法、使用限制和使用该功能的常见问题。

非事务 DML 语句是将一个普通 DML 语句拆成多个 SQL 语句(即多个 batch)执行,以牺牲事务的原子性和隔离性为代价,增强批量数据处理场景下的性能和易用性。

非事务 DML 语句包括 INSERTUPDATEDELETE,TiDB 目前只支持非事务 DELETE 语句,详细的语法介绍见 BATCH

使用场景

在大批量的数据处理场景,用户经常需要对一大批数据执行相同的操作。如果直接使用一个 SQL 语句执行操作,很可能导致事务大小超过限制,而大事务会明显影响执行性能。

批量数据处理操作往往和在线业务操作不具有时间或数据上的交集。没有并发操作时,隔离性是不必要的。如果将批量数据操作设计成幂等的,或者易于重试的,那么原子性也是不必要的。如果你的业务满足这两个条件,那么可以考虑使用非事务 DML 语句。

非事务 DML 语句用于在特定场景下绕过大事务的事务大小限制,用一条语句完成原本需要拆分成多个事务完成的任务,且执行效率更高,占用资源更少。

例如,对于一个删除过期数据的需求,在确保没有任何业务会访问过期数据时,适合使用非事务 DML 语句来提升删除性能。

前提条件

要使用非事务 DML 语句,必须满足以下条件:

  • 确保该语句不需要原子性,即允许执行结果中,一部分行被修改,而一部分行没有被修改。
  • 确保该语句具有幂等性,或是做好准备根据错误信息对部分数据重试。如果系统变量 tidb_redact_log = 1tidb_nontransactional_ignore_error = 1,则该语句必须是幂等的。否则语句部分失败时,无法准确定位失败的部分。
  • 确保该语句将要操作的数据没有其它并发的写入,即不被其它语句同时更新。否则可能出现漏删、多删等非预期的现象。
  • 确保该语句不会修改语句自身会读取的内容,否则后续的 batch 读到之前 batch 写入的内容,容易引起非预期的情况。
  • 确认该语句满足使用限制
  • 不建议在该 DML 语句将要读写的表上同时进行并发的 DDL 操作。

使用示例

使用非事务 DML 语句

以下部分通过示例说明非事务 DML 语句的使用方法:

创建一张表 t,表结构如下:

CREATE TABLE t(id int, v int, key(id));
Query OK, 0 rows affected

向表 t 中插入一些数据。

INSERT INTO t VALUES (1,2),(2,3),(3,4),(4,5),(5,6);
Query OK, 5 rows affected

以下操作使用非事务 DML 语句,删除表 tv 列上小于整数 6 的行。该语句将以 2 为 batch size,以 id 列为划分列,拆分为两个 SQL 语句执行。

BATCH ON id LIMIT 2 DELETE FROM t where v < 6;
+----------------+---------------+
| number of jobs | job status    |
+----------------+---------------+
| 2              | all succeeded |
+----------------+---------------+
1 row in set

查看非事务 DML 语句的删除结果。

SELECT * FROM t;
+----+---+
| id | v |
+----+---+
| 5  | 6 |
+----+---+
1 row in set

查看非事务 DML 语句的执行进度

非事务 DML 语句执行过程中,可以通过 SHOW PROCESSLIST 查看执行进度,返回结果中的 Time 表示当前 batch 执行的耗时。日志、慢日志等也会记录每个拆分后的语句在整个非事务 DML 语句中的进度。例如:

show processlist;
+------+------+--------------------+--------+---------+------+------------+----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------+
| Id   | User | Host               | db     | Command | Time | State      | Info                                                                                               |
+------+------+--------------------+--------+---------+------+------------+----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------+
| 1203 | root | 100.64.10.62:52711 | test   | Query   | 0    | autocommit | /* job 506/500000 */ DELETE FROM `test`.`t1` WHERE `test`.`t1`.`_tidb_rowid` BETWEEN 2271 AND 2273 |
| 1209 | root | 100.64.10.62:52735 | <null> | Query   | 0    | autocommit | show full processlist                                                                              |
+------+------+--------------------+--------+---------+------+------------+----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------+

终止一个非事务 DML 语句

通过 KILL TIDB 终止一个非事务语句时,TiDB 会取消当前正在执行的 batch 之后的所有 batch。执行结果信息需要从日志里获得。

查询非事务 DML 语句中划分 batch 的语句

要查询非事务 DML 语句中用于划分 batch 的语句,你可在非事务 DML 语句中添加 DRY RUN QUERY。添加后,TiDB 不实际执行这个查询和后续的 DML 操作。

下面这条语句查询 BATCH ON id LIMIT 2 DELETE FROM t WHERE v < 6 这条非事务 DML 语句内用于划分 batch 的查询语句。

BATCH ON id LIMIT 2 DRY RUN QUERY DELETE FROM t WHERE v < 6;
+--------------------------------------------------------------------------------+
| query statement                                                                |
+--------------------------------------------------------------------------------+
| SELECT `id` FROM `test`.`t` WHERE (`v` < 6) ORDER BY IF(ISNULL(`id`),0,1),`id` |
+--------------------------------------------------------------------------------+
1 row in set

查询非事务 DML 语句中首末 batch 对应的语句

要查询非事务 DML 语句中第一个和最后一个 batch 对应的实际 DML 语句,你可在语句中添加 DRY RUN。添加后,TiDB 只划分 batch,不执行这些 SQL 语句。因为 batch 数量可能很多,不显示全部 batch,只显示第一个和最后一个 batch。

BATCH ON id LIMIT 2 DRY RUN DELETE FROM t where v < 6;
+-------------------------------------------------------------------+
| split statement examples                                          |
+-------------------------------------------------------------------+
| DELETE FROM `test`.`t` WHERE (`id` BETWEEN 1 AND 2 AND (`v` < 6)) |
| DELETE FROM `test`.`t` WHERE (`id` BETWEEN 3 AND 4 AND (`v` < 6)) |
+-------------------------------------------------------------------+
2 rows in set

在非事务 DML 语句中使用 Optimizer Hint

对于 DELETE 语句原本支持的 Optimizer Hint,非事务 DELETE 语句也同样支持,hint 位置与普通 DELETE 语句中的位置相同:

BATCH ON id LIMIT 2 DELETE /*+ USE_INDEX(t)*/ FROM t where v < 6;

最佳实践

建议按照以下步骤执行非事务 DML 语句:

  1. 选择合适的划分列。建议使用整数或字符串类型。
  2. (可选)在非事务 DML 语句中添加 DRY RUN QUERY,手动执行查询,确认 DML 语句影响的数据范围是否大体正确。
  3. (可选)在非事务 DML 语句中添加 DRY RUN,手动执行查询,检查拆分后的语句和执行计划。需要关注索引选择效率。
  4. 执行非事务 DML 语句。
  5. 如果报错,从报错信息或日志中获取具体失败的数据范围,进行重试或手动处理。

参数说明

参数说明默认值是否必填建议值
划分列用于划分 batch 的列,例如以上非事务 DML 语句 BATCH ON id LIMIT 2 DELETE FROM t WHERE v < 6 中的 idTiDB 尝试自动选择选择可以最高效地满足 WHERE 条件的列
Batch size用于控制每个 batch 的大小,batch 即 DML 操作拆分成的 SQL 语句个数,例如以上非事务 DML 语句 BATCH ON id LIMIT 2 DELETE FROM t WHERE v < 6 中的 LIMIT 2。batch 数量越多,batch size 越小N/A1000~1000000,过小和过大都会导致性能下降

划分列的选择

非事务 DML 语句需要用一个列作为数据分批的标准,该列即为划分列。为获得更高的执行效率,划分列必须能够利用索引。不同的索引和划分列所导致的执行效率可能有数十倍的差别。选择划分列时,可以考虑以下建议:

  • 当你对业务数据分布有一定了解时,根据 WHERE 条件,选择划分 batch 后,划分范围较小的列。
    • 在理想情况下,WHERE 条件可以利用划分列的索引,降低每个 batch 需要扫描的数据量。例如有一个交易表,记录了每一笔交易的开始和结束时间,你希望删除结束时间在一个月之前的所有交易记录。如果在交易的开始时间有索引,且已知交易的开始和结束时间通常相差不大,那么可以选择开始时间作为划分列。
    • 在不太理想的情况下:划分列的数据分布与 WHERE 条件完全无关,无法利用划分列的索引来减少数据扫描的范围。
  • 有聚簇索引时,建议用主键作为划分列,这样语句执行效率更高(包括 INT 主键和 _tidb_rowid)。
  • 选择重复值较少的列。

你可以不指定划分列,TiDB 默认会使用 handle 的第一列作为划分列。但如果聚簇索引主键的第一列是非事务 DML 语句不支持的数据类型(即 ENUMBITSETJSON),TiDB 会报错。你可根据业务需要选择合适的划分列。

Batch size 的选择

非事务 DML 语句中,batch size 越大,拆分出来的 SQL 语句越少,每个 SQL 语句执行起来越慢。最优的 batch size 依据 workload 而定。根据经验值,推荐从 50000 开始尝试。过小和过大的 batch size 都会导致执行效率下降。

每个 batch 的信息存储在内存里,因此 batch 数量过多会显著增加内存消耗。这也是 batch size 不能过小的原因之一。非事务语句用于存储 batch 信息消耗的内存上限与 tidb_mem_quota_query 相同,超出这个限制时触发的操作由系统变量 tidb_mem_oom_action 控制。

使用限制

非事务 DML 语句的硬性限制,不满足这些条件时 TiDB 会报错。

  • 只可对单表进行操作,暂不支持多表连接。
  • DML 语句不能包含 ORDER BYLIMIT 字句。
  • 用于拆分的列必须被索引。该索引可以是单列的索引,或是一个联合索引的第一列。
  • 必须在 autocommit 模式中使用。
  • 不能在开启了 batch-dml 时使用。
  • 不能在设置了 tidb_snapshot 时使用。
  • 不能与 prepare 语句一起使用。
  • 划分列不支持 ENUMBITSETJSON 类型。
  • 不支持用在临时表上。
  • 不支持公共表表达式

控制 batch 执行失败

非事务 DML 语句不满足原子性,可能存在一些 batch 成功,一些 batch 失败的情况。系统变量 tidb_nontransactional_ignore_error 控制非事务 DML 语句处理错误的行为。

一个例外是,如果第一个 batch 就执行失败,有很大概率是语句本身有错,此时整个非事务语句会直接返回一个错误。

实现原理

非事务 DML 语句的实现原理,是将原本需要在用户侧手动执行的 SQL 语句拆分工作内置为 TiDB 的一个功能,简化用户操作。要理解非事务 DML 语句的行为,可以将其想象成一个用户脚本进行了如下操作:

对于非事务 DML BATCH ON $C$ LIMIT $N$ DELETE FROM ... WHERE $P$,其中 CC 为用于拆分的列,NN 为 batch size,PP 为筛选条件。

  1. TiDB 根据原始语句的筛选条件 PP,和指定的用于拆分的列 CC,查询出所有满足 PPCC。对这些 CC 排序后按 NN 分成多个分组 B1BkB_1 \dots B_k。对所有 BiB_i,保留它的第一个和最后一个 CC,记为 SiS_iEiE_i。这一步所执行的查询语句,可以通过 DRY RUN QUERY 查看。
  2. BiB_i 所涉及的数据就是满足 PiP_i: CC BETWEEN SiS_i AND EiE_i 的一个子集。可以通过 PiP_i 来缩小每个 batch 需要处理的数据范围。
  3. BiB_i,将上面这个条件嵌入原始语句的 WHERE 条件,使其变为 WHERE (PiP_i) AND (PP)。这一步的执行结果,可以通过 DRY RUN 查看。
  4. 对所有 batch,依次执行新的语句。收集每个分组的错误并合并,在所有分组结束后作为整个非事务 DML 语句的结果返回。

与 batch-dml 的异同

batch-dml 是一种在 DML 语句执行期间将一个事务拆成多个事务提交的机制。

非事务 DML 语句尚不能替代所有的 batch-dml 使用场景。它们的主要区别有:

  • 性能:在划分效率较高的情况下,非事务 DML 语句和 batch-dml 性能接近。在划分效率较低的情况下,非事务 DML 语句可能会明显慢于 batch-dml。

  • 稳定性:batch-dml 极易因为使用不当导致数据索引不一致问题。而非事务 DML 语句不会导致数据索引不一致问题。但使用不当时,非事务 DML 语句与原始语句不等价,应用可能观察到和预期不符的现象。详见常见问题

常见问题

实际的 batch 大小和指定的 batch size 不一样

在非事务 DML 语句的执行过程中,最后一个 batch 处理的数据量可能会小于 batch size。

划分列有重复值时,每个 batch 会将当前 batch 中划分列的最后一个元素的所有重复值全部加入当前 batch 中,因此这个 batch 的行数可能会多于 batch size。

另外,在有其它并发的数据写入时,也可能导致每个 batch 实际处理的行数和 batch size 不一致。

执行时出现报错 Failed to restore the delete statement, probably because of unsupported type of the shard column

划分列的类型暂时不支持 ENUMBITSETJSON 类型,请尝试重新指定一个划分列。推荐使用整数或字符串类型的列。如果划分列不是这些类型,请联系 PingCAP 技术支持。

非事务 DELETE 出现和普通的 DELETE 不等价的“异常”行为

非事务 DML 语句和这个 DML 语句的原始形式并不等价,这可能是由以下原因导致的:

  • 有并发的其它写入。
  • 非事务 DML 语句修改了语句自身会读取的值。
  • 在每个 batch 上实际执行的 SQL 语句由于改变了 WHERE 条件,可能会导致执行计划以及表达式计算顺序不同,由此导致了执行结果不一样。
  • DML 语句中含有非确定性的操作。

兼容信息

非事务语句是 TiDB 独有的功能,与 MySQL 不兼容。

探索更多

下载 PDF文档反馈社区交流
文档内容是否有帮助?
产品
TiDB
学习
客户案例
PingCAP Education
TiDB in Action
© 2022 PingCAP. All Rights Reserved.

Sign InTry Free

Non-Transactional DML Statements

This document describes the usage scenarios, usage methods, and restrictions of non-transactional DML statements in TiDB. In addition, the implementation principle and common issues are also explained.

A non-transactional DML statement is a DML statement split into multiple SQL statements (which is, multiple batches) to be executed in sequence. It enhances the performance and ease of use in batch data processing at the expense of transactional atomicity and isolation.

Non-transactional DML statements include INSERT, UPDATE, and DELETE, of which TiDB currently only supports DELETE. For detailed syntax, see BATCH.

Usage scenarios

In the scenarios of large data processing, you might often need to perform same operations on a large batch of data. If the operation is performed directly using a single SQL statement, the transaction size might exceed the limit and affect the execution performance.

Batch data processing often has no overlap of time or data with the online application operations. Isolation (I in ACID) is unnecessary when no concurrent operations exist. Atomicity is also unnecessary if bulk data operations are idempotent or easily retryable. If your application needs neither data isolation nor atomicity, you can consider using non-transactional DML statements.

Non-transactional DML statements are used to bypass the size limit on large transactions in certain scenarios. One statement is used to complete tasks that would otherwise require manually splitting of transactions, with higher execution efficiency and less resource consumption.

For example, to delete expired data, if you ensure that no application will access the expired data, you can use a non-transactional DML statement to improve the DELETE performance.

Prerequisites

Before using non-transactional DML statements, make sure that the following conditions are met:

  • The statement does not require atomicity, which permits some rows to be modified and some rows to remain unmodified in the execution result.
  • The statement is idempotent, or you are prepared to retry on a part of the data according to the error message. If the system variables are set to tidb_redact_log = 1 and tidb_nontransactional_ignore_error = 1, this statement must be idempotent. Otherwise, when the statement partially fails, the failed part cannot be accurately located.
  • The data to be operated on has no other concurrent writes, which means it is not updated by other statements at the same time. Otherwise, unexpected results such as missing deletions and wrong deletions might occur.
  • The statement does not modify the data to be read by the statement itself. Otherwise, the following batch will read the data written by the previous batch and easily causes unexpected results.
  • The statement meets the restrictions.
  • It is not recommended to perform concurrent DDL operations on the table to be read or written by this DML statement.

WARNING:

If tidb_redact_log and tidb_nontransactional_ignore_error are enabled at the same time, you might not get the complete error information of each batch, and you cannot retry the failed batch only. Therefore, if both of the system variables are turned on, the non-transactional DML statement must be idempotent.

Usage examples

Use a non-transactional DML statement

The following sections describe the use of non-transactional DML statements with examples:

Create a table t with the following schema:

CREATE TABLE t (id INT, v INT, KEY(id));
Query OK, 0 rows affected

Insert some data into table t.

INSERT INTO t VALUES (1, 2), (2, 3), (3, 4), (4, 5), (5, 6);
Query OK, 5 rows affected

The following operation uses a non-transactional DML statement to delete rows with values less than the integer 6 on column v of table t. This statement is split into two SQL statements, with a batch size of 2, divided by the id column and executed.

BATCH ON id LIMIT 2 DELETE FROM t WHERE v < 6;
+----------------+---------------+
| number of jobs | job status    |
+----------------+---------------+
| 2              | all succeeded |
+----------------+---------------+
1 row in set

Check the deletion results of the above non-transactional DML statement.

SELECT * FROM t;
+----+---+
| id | v |
+----+---+
| 5  | 6 |
+----+---+
1 row in set

Check the execution progress

During the execution of a non-transactional DML statement, you can view the progress using SHOW PROCESSLIST. The Time field in the returned result indicates the time consumption of the current batch execution. Logs and slow logs also record the progress of each split statement throughout the non-transactional DML execution. For example:

SHOW PROCESSLIST;
+------+------+--------------------+--------+---------+------+------------+----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------+
| Id   | User | Host               | db     | Command | Time | State      | Info                                                                                               |
+------+------+--------------------+--------+---------+------+------------+----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------+
| 1203 | root | 100.64.10.62:52711 | test   | Query   | 0    | autocommit | /* job 506/500000 */ DELETE FROM `test`.`t1` WHERE `test`.`t1`.`_tidb_rowid` BETWEEN 2271 AND 2273 |
| 1209 | root | 100.64.10.62:52735 | <null> | Query   | 0    | autocommit | show full processlist                                                                              |
+------+------+--------------------+--------+---------+------+------------+----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------+

Terminate a non-transactional DML statement

To terminate a non-transactional DML statement, you can use KILL TIDB <processlist_id>. Then TiDB will cancel all batches after the batch that is currently being executed. You can get the execution result from the log.

For more information about KILL TIDB, see the reference KILL.

Query the batch-dividing statement

During the execution of a non-transactional DML statement, a statement is internally used to divide the DML statement into multiple batches. To query this batch-dividing statement, you can add DRY RUN QUERY to this non-transactional DML statement. Then TiDB will not execute this query and the subsequent DML operations.

The following statement queries the batch-dividing statement during the execution of BATCH ON id LIMIT 2 DELETE FROM t WHERE v < 6:

BATCH ON id LIMIT 2 DRY RUN QUERY DELETE FROM t WHERE v < 6;
+--------------------------------------------------------------------------------+
| query statement                                                                |
+--------------------------------------------------------------------------------+
| SELECT `id` FROM `test`.`t` WHERE (`v` < 6) ORDER BY IF(ISNULL(`id`),0,1),`id` |
+--------------------------------------------------------------------------------+
1 row in set

Query the statements corresponding to the first and the last batches

To query the actual DML statements corresponding to the first and the last batches in a non-transactional DML statement, you can add DRY RUN to this non-transactional DML statement. Then, TiDB only divides batches and does not execute these SQL statements. Because there might be many batches, not all batches are displayed, and only the first one and the last one are displayed.

BATCH ON id LIMIT 2 DRY RUN DELETE FROM t WHERE v < 6;
+-------------------------------------------------------------------+
| split statement examples                                          |
+-------------------------------------------------------------------+
| DELETE FROM `test`.`t` WHERE (`id` BETWEEN 1 AND 2 AND (`v` < 6)) |
| DELETE FROM `test`.`t` WHERE (`id` BETWEEN 3 AND 4 AND (`v` < 6)) |
+-------------------------------------------------------------------+
2 rows in set

Use the optimizer hint

If an optimizer hint is originally supported in the DELETE statement, the optimizer hint is also supported in the non-transactional DELETE statement. The position of the hint is the same as that in the ordinary DELETE statement:

BATCH ON id LIMIT 2 DELETE /*+ USE_INDEX(t)*/ FROM t WHERE v < 6;

Best practices

To use a non-transactional DML statement, the following steps are recommended:

  1. Select an appropriate dividing column. Integer or string types are recommended.
  2. (Optional) Add DRY RUN QUERY to the non-transactional DML statement, execute the query manually, and confirm whether the data range affected by the DML statement is roughly correct.
  3. (Optional) Add DRY RUN to the non-transactional DML statement, execute the query manually, and check the split statements and the execution plans. You need to pay attention to the index selection efficiency.
  4. Execute the non-transactional DML statement.
  5. If an error is reported, get the specific failed data range from the error message or log, and retry or handle it manually.

Parameter description

ParameterDescriptionDefault valueRequired or notRecommended value
Dividing columnThe column used to divide batches, such as the id column in the above non-transactional DML statement BATCH ON id LIMIT 2 DELETE FROM t WHERE v < 6.TiDB tries to automatically select a dividing column.NoSelect a column that can meet the WHERE condition in the most efficient way.
Batch sizeUsed to control the size of each batch. The number of batches is the number of SQL statements into which DML operations are split, such as LIMIT 2 in the above non-transactional DML statement BATCH ON id LIMIT 2 DELETE FROM t WHERE v < 6. The more batches, the smaller the batch size.N/AYes1000-1000000. Too small or too large a batch will lead to performance degradation.

How to select a dividing column

A non-transactional DML statement uses a column as the basis for data batching, which is the dividing column. For higher execution efficiency, a dividing column is required to use index. The execution efficiency brought by different indexes and dividing columns might vary by dozens of times. When choosing the dividing column, consider the following suggestions:

  • If you know the application data distribution, according to the WHERE condition, choose the column that divides data with smaller ranges after the batching.
    • Ideally, the WHERE condition can take advantage of the index of the dividing column to reduce the amount of data to be scanned per batch. For example, there is a transaction table that records the start and end time of each transaction, and you want to delete all transaction records whose end time is before one month. If there is an index on the start time of the transaction, and the start and end times of the transaction are relatively close, then you can choose the start time column as the dividing column.
    • In a less-than-ideal case, the data distribution of the dividing column is completely independent of the WHERE condition, and the index of the dividing column cannot be used to reduce the scope of the data scan.
  • When a clustered index exists, it is recommended to use the primary key (including an INT primary key and _tidb_rowid) as the dividing column, so that the execution efficiency is higher.
  • Choose the column with fewer duplicate values.

You can also choose not to specify a dividing column. Then, TiDB will use the first column of handle as the dividing column by default. But if the first column of the primary key of the clustered index is of a data type not supported by non-transactional DML statements (which is ENUM, BIT, SET, JSON), TiDB will report an error. You can choose an appropriate dividing column according to your application needs.

How to set batch size

In non-transactional DML statements, the larger the batch size, the fewer SQL statements are split and the slower each SQL statement is executed. The optimal batch size depends on the workload. It is recommended to start from 50000. Either too small or too large batch sizes will cause decreased execution efficiency.

The information of each batch is stored in memory, so too many batches can significantly increase memory consumption. This explains why the batch size cannot be too small. The upper limit of memory consumed by non-transactional statements for storing batch information is the same as tidb_mem_quota_query, and the action triggered when this limit is exceeded is determined by the configuration item tidb_mem_oom_action.

Restrictions

The following are hard restrictions on non-transactional DML statements. If these restrictions are not met, TiDB will report an error.

  • You can only operate on a single table. Multi-table joins are currently not supported.
  • The DML statements cannot contain ORDER BY or LIMIT clauses.
  • The dividing column must be indexed. The index can be a single-column index, or the first column of a joint index.
  • Must be used in the autocommit mode.
  • Cannot be used when batch-dml is enabled.
  • Cannot be used when [tidb_snapshot](/read-historical-data.md#operation flow) is set.
  • Cannot be used with the prepare statement.
  • ENUM, BIT, SET, JSON types are not supported as the dividing columns.
  • Not supported for temporary tables.
  • Common Table Expression is not supported.

Control batch execution failure

Non-transactional DML statements do not satisfy atomicity. Some batches might succeed and some might fail. The system variable tidb_nontransactional_ignore_error controls how the non-transactional DML statements handle errors.

An exception is that if the first batch fails, there is a high probability that the statement itself is wrong. In this case, the entire non-transactional statement will directly return an error.

How it works

The working principle of non-transactional DML statements is to build into TiDB the automatic splitting of SQL statements. Without non-transactional DML statements, you will need to manually split the SQL statements. To understand the behavior of a non-transactional DML statement, think of it as a user script doing the following tasks:

For the non-transactional DML BATCH ON $C$ LIMIT $N$ DELETE FROM ... WHERE $P$, CC is the column used for dividing, NN is the batch size, and PP is the filter condition.

  1. According to the filter condition PP of the original statement and the specified column CC for dividing, TiDB queries all CC that satisfy PP. TiDB sorts these CC into groups B1BkB_1 \dots B_k according to NN. For each of all BiB_i, TiDB keeps its first and last CC as SiS_i and EiE_i. The query statement executed in this step can be viewed through DRY RUN QUERY.
  2. The data involved in BiB_i is a subset that satisfies PiP_i: CC BETWEEN SiS_i AND EiE_i. You can use PiP_i to narrow down the range of data that each batch needs to process.
  3. For BiB_i, TiDB embeds the above condition into the WHERE condition of the original statement, which makes it WHERE (PiP_i) AND (PP). The execution result of this step can be viewed through DRY RUN.
  4. For all batches, execute new statements in sequence. The errors for each grouping are collected and combined, and returned as the result of the entire non-transactional DML statement after all groupings are complete.

Comparison with batch-dml

batch-dml is a mechanism for splitting a transaction into multiple transaction commits during the execution of a DML statement.

Non-transactional DML statements are not yet a replacement for all batch-dml usage scenarios. Their main differences are as follows:

  • Performance: When the dividing column is efficient, the performance of non-transactional DML statements is close to that of batch-dml. When the dividing column is less efficient, the performance of non-transactional DML statements is significantly lower than that of batch-dml.

  • Stability: batch-dml is prone to data index inconsistencies due to improper use. Non-transactional DML statements do not cause data index inconsistencies. However, when used improperly, non-transactional DML statements are not equivalent to the original statements, and the applications might observe unexpected behavior. See the common issues section for details.

Common issues

The actual batch size is not the same as the specified batch size

During the execution of a non-transactional DML statement, the size of data to be processed in the last batch might be smaller than the specified batch size.

When duplicated values exist in the dividing column, each batch will contain all the duplicated values of the last element of the dividing column in this batch. Therefore, the number of rows in this batch might be greater than the specified batch size.

In addition, when other concurrent writes occur, the number of rows processed in each batch might be different from the specified batch size.

The Failed to restore the delete statement, probably because of unsupported type of the shard column error occurs during execution

The dividing column does not support ENUM, BIT, SET, JSON types. Try to specify a new dividing column. It is recommended to use an integer or string type column.

If the error occurs when the selected dividing column is not one of these unsupported types, contact PingCAP technical support.

Non-transactional DELETE has "exceptional" behavior that is not equivalent to ordinary DELETE

A non-transactional DML statement is not equivalent to the original form of this DML statement, which might have the following reasons:

  • There are other concurrent writes.
  • The non-transactional DML statement modifies a value that the statement itself will read.
  • The SQL statement executed in each batch might cause a different execution plan and expression calculation order because the WHERE condition is changed. Therefore, the execution result might be different from the original statement.
  • The DML statements contain non-deterministic operations.

MySQL compatibility

Non-transactional statements are TiDB-specific and are not compatible with MySQL.

See also

Download PDFRequest docs changes
Was this page helpful?
Open Source Ecosystem
TiDB
TiKV
TiSpark
Chaos Mesh
© 2022 PingCAP. All Rights Reserved.