BR 简介

BR 全称为 Backup & Restore,是 TiDB 分布式备份恢复的命令行工具,用于对 TiDB 集群进行数据备份和恢复。BR 除了可以用来进行常规的备份恢复外,也可以在保证兼容性前提下用来做大规模的数据迁移。

本文介绍了 BR 的架构、功能和使用前须知(限制、使用建议)。

BR 架构

BR 将备份或恢复操作命令下发到各个 TiKV 节点。TiKV 收到命令后执行相应的备份或恢复操作。在一次备份或恢复中,各个 TiKV 节点都会有一个对应的备份路径,TiKV 备份时产生的备份文件将会保存在该路径下,恢复时也会从该路径读取相应的备份文件。

br-arch

备份恢复的详细设计可以参考 TiDB 备份与恢复功能 BR 的设计

BR 功能

本部分介绍了 BR 的备份和恢复功能及其性能指标。

对 TiDB 集群进行备份

  • 集群快照备份:TiDB 集群快照数据只包含某个物理时间点上集群满足事务一致性的所有数据。BR 支持备份集群快照数据,使用请参考备份 TiDB 集群快照
  • 集群增量备份:TiDB 集群增量数据包含在某个时间段的起始和结束两个快照的变化差异的数据。 增量数据相对比全量数据而言数据量更小,适合配合快照备份一起使用,减少备份的数据量。使用请参考备份 TiDB 集群增量数据
  • 只备份指定库表:BR 支持在快照备份和增量数据备份的基础上,过滤掉不需要的备份数据,帮助用户实现只备份关键业务的数据。使用请参考备份 TiDB 集群的指定库表的数据
  • 备份数据加密: BR 支持备份数据加密和 Amazon S3 服务端加密,用户可以根据自己情况选择其中一种使用。使用请参考备份数据加密

备份对性能的影响

BR 备份期间对 TiDB 集群的影响可以保持在 20% 以下,通过合理的配置 TiDB 集群用于备份资源,影响可以降低到 10% 及更低;单 TiKV 存储节点的备份速度可以达到 50 MB/s ~ 100 MB/s,备份速度具有可扩展性;更详细说明请参考备份性能和影响

支持的备份存储类型

BR 支持将数据备份到 Amazon S3/Google Cloud Storage/Azure Blob Storage/NFS,或者实现 s3 协议的其他文件存储服务。使用请参考备份数据到远端存储

从备份数据恢复 TiDB 集群

  • 恢复集群快照备份:你可以在一个空集群上执行快照备份恢复,将该集群恢复到快照备份时刻点的集群最新状态。使用请参考恢复集群快照备份
  • 恢复集群增量备份:你可以恢复某个时间段的增量备份数据。使用请参考备份 TiDB 集群增量数据
  • 恢复备份中的指定库表:你可以只恢复备份数据中指定库/表的局部数据。该功能在恢复过程中过滤掉不需要的数据,可以用于往 TiDB 集群上恢复指定库/表的数据。使用请参考恢复备份数据中指定库表的数据

恢复对性能的影响

恢复速度约为单 TiKV 存储节点 100 MB/s,恢复速度具有可扩展性;BR 只支持恢复数据到新集群,会尽可能多的使用恢复集群的资源。更详细说明请参考恢复性能和影响

使用前须知

本部分介绍使用 BR 前的注意事项和参考信息,包括使用限制、兼容性和其他参考文档。

使用限制

在使用 BR 之前需要先了解 BR 存在的使用上的限制。

场景限制

BR 恢复数据到运行 TiCDC 或 TiDB Binlog 的上游集群时,恢复的数据无法由 TiCDC 或 TiDB Binlog 同步到下游集群。

功能的兼容性

BR 和 TiDB 集群的兼容性问题分为两方面:

  • BR 部分版本和 TiDB 集群的接口不兼容

    BR 在 v5.4.0 之前不支持恢复 charset=GBK 的表。并且,任何版本的 BR 都不支持恢复 charset=GBK 的表到 v5.4.0 之前的 TiDB 集群。

  • 某些功能在开启或关闭状态下,会导致 KV 格式发生变化,因此备份和恢复期间如果没有统一开启或关闭某功能,就会带来不兼容的问题。

下表整理了会导致 KV 格式发生变化的功能。

功能相关 issue解决方式
聚簇索引#565确保备份时 tidb_enable_clustered_index 全局变量和恢复时一致,否则会导致数据不一致的问题,例如 default not found 和数据索引不一致。
New collation#352确保恢复时集群的 new_collations_enabled_on_first_bootstrap 变量值和备份时的一致,否则会导致数据索引不一致和 checksum 通不过。更多信息,请参考 FAQ - BR 为什么会报 new_collations_enabled_on_first_bootstrap 不匹配?
全局临时表确保使用 BR v5.3.0 及以上版本进行备份和恢复,否则会导致全局临时表的表定义错误。

在上述功能确保备份恢复一致的前提下,BR 和 TiKV/TiDB/PD 还可能因为版本内部协议不一致/接口不一致出现不兼容的问题,因此 BR 内置了版本检查。

版本兼容检查

BR 内置版本会在执行备份和恢复操作前,对 TiDB 集群版本和自身版本进行对比检查。如果大版本不匹配(比如 BR v4.x 和 TiDB v5.x 上),BR 会提示退出。如要跳过版本检查,可以通过设置 --check-requirements=false 强行跳过版本检查。需要注意的是,跳过检查可能会遇到版本不兼容的问题。

BR 和 TiDB 各版本兼容情况如下表所示:

恢复版本(横向)\ 备份版本(纵向)用 BR v5.4 恢复 TiDB v5.4用 BR v6.0 恢复 TiDB v6.0用 BR v6.1 恢复 TiDB v6.1用 BR v6.2 恢复 TiDB v6.2
用 BR v5.4 备份 TiDB v5.4兼容不兼容(调整恢复集群的 新 collation 配置跟备份集群相同后,可以恢复)不兼容(调整恢复集群的 新 collation 配置跟备份集群相同后,可以恢复)不兼容(调整恢复集群的 新 collation 配置跟备份集群相同后,可以恢复)
用 BR v6.0 备份 TiDB v6.0不兼容兼容兼容兼容
用 BR v6.1 备份 TiDB v6.1不兼容兼容(已知问题,如果备份数据中包含空库可能导致报错,参考 #36379兼容兼容
用 BR v6.2 备份 TiDB v6.2不兼容兼容(已知问题,如果备份数据中包含空库可能导致报错,参考 #36379兼容兼容

使用建议

下面是使用 BR 进行备份恢复的一些建议:

  • 推荐在业务低峰时执行备份操作,这样能最大程度地减少对业务的影响;
  • BR 只支持恢复数据到新集群,会尽可能多的使用恢复集群的资源。不推荐向正在提供服务的生产集群执行恢复,恢复期间会对业务产生不可避免的影响;
  • 不推荐多个 BR 备份和恢复任务并行运行。不同的任务并行,不仅会导致备份或恢复的性能降低,影响在线业务;还会因为任务之间缺少协调机制造成任务失败,甚至对集群的状态产生影响;
  • 推荐使用支持 S3/GCS/Azure Blob Storage 协议的存储系统保存备份数据;
  • 应确保 BR、TiKV 节点和备份存储系统有足够的网络带宽,备份存储系统能提供足够的写入/读取性能,否则,它们有可能成为备份恢复时的性能瓶颈。

探索更多

下载 PDF文档反馈社区交流
文档内容是否有帮助?
产品
TiDB
学习
客户案例
PingCAP Education
TiDB in Action
© 2022 PingCAP. All Rights Reserved.

Sign InTry Free

BR Overview

BR (Backup & Restore) is a command-line tool for distributed backup and restoration of the TiDB cluster data. In addition to regular backup and restoration, you can also use BR for large-scale data migration as long as compatibility is ensured.

This document describes BR's architecture, features, and usage tips.

BR architecture

BR sends a backup or restoration command to each TiKV node. After receiving the command, TiKV performs the corresponding backup or restoration operation.

Each TiKV node has a path in which the backup files generated in the backup operation are stored and from which the stored backup files are read during the restoration.

br-arch

For detailed information about the BR design, see BR Design Principles.

BR features

This section describes BR features and the performance impact.

Back up TiDB cluster data

  • Back up cluster snapshots: A snapshot of a TiDB cluster contains transactionally consistent data at a specific time. You can back up snapshot data of a TiDB cluster using BR. For details, see Back up TiDB cluster snapshots.
  • Back up incremental data: The incremental data of a TiDB cluster represents changes between the latest snapshot and the previous snapshot. Incremental data is smaller in size compared with full data, and can be used together with snapshot backup, which reduces the volume of backup data. For details, see Back up incremental data.
  • Back up a database or table: On top of snapshot and incremental data backup, BR supports backing up a specific database or table and filtering out unnecessary data. For details, see Back up a database or table.
  • Encrypt backup data: BR supports backup data encryption and Amazon S3 server-side encryption. You can select an encryption method as needed. For details, see Encrypt backup data.

Impact on performance

The impact of backup on a TiDB cluster is kept below 20%, and this value can be reduced to 10% or less with the proper configuration of the TiDB cluster. The backup speed of a TiKV node is scalable and ranges from 50 MB/s to 100 MB/s. For more information, see Backup performance and impact.

Storage types of backup data

BR supports backing up data to Amazon S3, Google Cloud Storage, Azure Blob Storage, NFS, and other S3-compatible file storage services. For details, see Back up data to external storages.

Restore TiDB cluster data

  • Restore snapshot backup: You can restore snapshot backup data to a new cluster. For details, see Restore TiDB cluster snapshots.
  • Restore incremental backup: You can restore the incremental backup data to a cluster. For details, see Restore incremental backup.
  • Restore a database or a table from backup: You can restore part of a specific database or table. During the process, BR will filter out unnecessary data. For details, see Restore a database or a table.

Impact on performance

Data restoration is performed at a scalable speed. Generally, the speed is 100 MB/s per TiKV node. BR only supports restoring data to a new cluster and uses the resources of the target cluster as much as possible. For more details, see Restoration performance and impact.

Before you use BR

Before you use BR, pay attention to its usage restrictions, compatibility, and other considerations.

Usage restrictions

This section describes usage restrictions of BR.

Unsupported scenarios

When BR restores data to the upstream cluster of TiCDC or TiDB Binlog, TiCDC or TiDB Binlog cannot replicate the restored data to the downstream cluster.

Compatibility

The compatibility issues of BR and a TiDB cluster are as follows:

  • There is a cross-version compatibility issue:

    Before v5.4.0, BR cannot restore tables with charset=GBK. At the same time, no version of BR supports restoring charset=GBK tables to a TiDB cluster earlier than v5.4.0.

  • The KV format might change when some features are enabled or disabled. If these features are not consistently enabled or disabled during backup and restoration, compatibility issues might occur.

These features are as follows:

FeatureIssueSolution
Clustered index#565Make sure that the value of the tidb_enable_clustered_index global variable during restoration is consistent with that during backup. Otherwise, data inconsistency might occur, such as default not found and inconsistent data index.
New collation#352Make sure that the value of the new_collations_enabled_on_first_bootstrap variable during restoration is consistent with that during backup. Otherwise, inconsistent data index might occur and checksum might fail to pass.
Global temporary tablesMake sure that you are using BR v5.3.0 or a later version to back up and restore data. Otherwise, an error occurs in the definition of the backed global temporary tables.

However, even after you have ensured that the preceding features are consistently enabled or disabled during backup and restoration, compatibility issues might still occur due to the inconsistent internal versions or inconsistent interfaces between BR and TiKV/TiDB/PD. To avoid such cases, BR provides a built-in version check.

Version check

Before performing backup and restoration, BR compares and checks the TiDB cluster version and the BR version. If there is a major-version mismatch (for example, BR v4.x and TiDB v5.x), BR prompts a reminder to exit. To forcibly skip the version check, you can set --check-requirements=false. Note that skipping the version check might introduce incompatibility.

The version compatibility mapping between BR and TiDB versions are as follows:

Backup version (vertical) \ Restoration version (horizontal)Use BR v5.4 to restore TiDB v5.4Use BR v6.0 to restore TiDB v6.0Use BR v6.1 to restore TiDB v6.1Use BR v6.2 to restore TiDB v6.2
Use BR v5.4 to back up TiDB v5.4CompatibleIncompatible (Before restoration, modify the restoration cluster to use the same new collation as the backup cluster.)Incompatible (Before restoration, modify the restoration cluster to use the same new collation as the backup cluster.)Incompatible (Before restoration, modify the restoration cluster to use the same new collation as the backup cluster.)
Use BR v6.0 to back up TiDB v6.0IncompatibleCompatibleCompatibleCompatible
Use BR v6.1 to back up TiDB v6.1IncompatibleCompatible (A known issue #36379: if backup data contains an empty schema, BR might report an error.)CompatibleCompatible
Use BR v6.2 to back up TiDB v6.2IncompatibleCompatible (A known issue #36379: if backup data contains an empty schema, BR might report an error.)CompatibleCompatible

Some tips

The following are some recommended operations for using BR:

  • It is recommended that you perform the backup operation during off-peak hours to minimize the impact on applications.
  • BR only supports restoring data to a new cluster and uses resources of the target cluster as much as possible. Therefore, it is not recommended that you restore data to a production cluster. Otherwise, services might be affected.
  • It is recommended that you execute multiple backup or restoration operations one by one. Running backup or restoration operations in parallel reduces performance and also affects online applications. Worse still, lack of collaboration between multiple tasks might result in task failures and affect cluster performance.
  • Amazon S3, Google Cloud Storage, and Azure Blob Storage are recommended to store backup data.
  • Make sure that the BR and TiKV nodes, and the backup storage system have sufficient network bandwidth to ensure sound write/read performance. Insufficient storage capacity might be the bottleneck for a backup or restoration operation.

See also

Download PDFRequest docs changes
Was this page helpful?
Open Source Ecosystem
TiDB
TiKV
TiSpark
Chaos Mesh
© 2022 PingCAP. All Rights Reserved.