重要

你正在查看 TiDB v6.0 (DMR) 的文档。PingCAP 不提供基于 v6.0 的 bug 修复版本,如有 bug,会在后续版本中修复。

如无特殊需求,建议使用 TiDB 数据库的最新 LTS 版本

TiDB Lightning 使用前提

使用 TiDB Lightning 导入数据前,先检查环境是否满足要求,这有助于减少导入过程的错误,避免导入失败的情况。

下游数据库权限要求

TiDB Lightning 导入数据时,根据导入方式和启用特性等,需要下游数据库用户具备不同的权限,可参考下表:

特性作用域所需权限备注
必需基本功能目标 tableCREATE,SELECT,INSERT,UPDATE,DELETE,DROP,ALTERDROP 仅 tidb-lightning-ctl 在执行 checkpoint-destroy-all 时需要
目标 databaseCREATE
必需tidb-backendinformation_schema.columnsSELECT
local-backendmysql.tidbSELECT
-SUPER
-RESTRICTED_VARIABLES_ADMIN,RESTRICTED_TABLES_ADMIN当目标 TiDB 开启 SEM
推荐冲突检测,max-errorlightning.task-info-schema-name 配置的 schemaSELECT,INSERT,UPDATE,DELETE,CREATE,DROP如不需要,该值必须设为""
可选并行导入lightning.meta-schema-name 配置的 schemaSELECT,INSERT,UPDATE,DELETE,CREATE,DROP如不需要,该值必须设为""
可选checkpoint.driver = “mysql”checkpoint.schema 设置SELECT,INSERT,UPDATE,DELETE,CREATE,DROP使用数据库而非文件形式存放 checkpoint 信息时需要

下游数据库所需空间

目标 TiKV 集群必须有足够空间接收新导入的数据。除了标准硬件配置以外,目标 TiKV 集群的总存储空间必须大于 数据源大小 × 副本数量 × 2。例如集群默认使用 3 副本,那么总存储空间需为数据源大小的 6 倍以上。公式中的 2 倍可能难以理解,其依据是以下因素的估算空间占用:

  • 索引会占据额外的空间
  • RocksDB 的空间放大效应

目前无法精确计算 Dumpling 从 MySQL 导出的数据大小,但你可以用下面 SQL 语句统计信息表的 data_length 字段估算数据量:

统计所有 schema 大小,单位 MiB,注意修改 ${schema_name}

select table_schema,sum(data_length)/1024/1024 as data_length,sum(index_length)/1024/1024 as index_length,sum(data_length+index_length)/1024/1024 as sum from information_schema.tables where table_schema = "${schema_name}" group by table_schema;

统计最大单表,单位 MiB,注意修改 ${schema_name}

select table_name,table_schema,sum(data_length)/1024/1024 as data_length,sum(index_length)/1024/1024 as index_length,sum(data_length+index_length)/1024/1024 as sum from information_schema.tables where table_schema = "${schema_name}" group by table_name,table_schema order by sum  desc limit 5;

TiDB Lightning 运行时资源要求

操作系统:本文档示例使用的是若干新的、纯净版 CentOS 7 实例,你可以在本地虚拟化一台主机,或在供应商提供的平台上部署一台小型的云虚拟主机。TiDB Lightning 运行过程中,默认会占满 CPU,建议单独部署在一台主机上。如果条件不允许,你可以将 TiDB Lightning 和其他组件(比如tikv-server)部署在同一台机器上,然后设置region-concurrency 配置项的值为逻辑 CPU 数的 75%,以限制 TiDB Lightning 对 CPU 资源的使用。

内存和 CPU

TiDB Lightning 在不同 backend 模式下对 CPU 和内存的要求不同,在部署时,建议根据使用的 backend 选择合适的环境以获取最佳导入性能。

  • Local-backend:该模式对 CPU 和内存的需求都比较高,建议为 TiDB Lightning 分配 32 核以上的 CPU 和 64 GiB 以上内存。

说明:

导入大量数据时,一个并发对内存的占用在 2 GiB 左右,也就是说总内存占用最大可达到 region-concurrency * 2 GiB。region-concurrency 默认与逻辑 CPU 的数量相同。如果内存的大小(GiB)小于逻辑 CPU 数量的两倍或运行时出现 OOM,需要手动调低 region-concurrency 参数以避免 TiDB Lightning OOM。

  • TiDB-backend:该模式的主要性能瓶颈是 TiDB,建议分配 4 核 CPU 和 8GB 内存。如果实际导入时,发现 TiDB 集群并没有达到写入的上限,可以适当调大 region-concurrency 配置参数。
  • Importer-backend:资源消耗基本与 Local-backend 相同。不建议使用。如无特殊需求,请优先使用 Local-backend。

存储空间:配置项 sorted-kv-dir 设置排序的键值对的临时存放地址,目标路径必须是一个空目录,目录空间须大于待导入数据集的大小。建议与 data-source-dir 使用不同的存储设备,独占 IO 会获得更好的导入性能,且建议优先考虑配置闪存等高性能存储介质。

网络:建议使用带宽 >=10Gbps 的网卡。

文档内容是否有帮助?

Important

You are viewing the documentation of TiDB v6.0 (DMR). PingCAP does not provide bug fixes for v6.0. Any bugs will be fixed in future releases.

For general purposes, please use the latest LTS version of the TiDB database.

Prerequisites for using TiDB Lightning

Before using TiDB Lightning, you need to check whether the environment meets the requirements. This helps reduce errors during import and ensures import success.

Downstream privilege requirements

Based on the import mode and features enabled, downstream database users should be granted with different privileges. The following table provides a reference.

FeatureScopeRequired privilegeRemarks
MandatoryBasic functionsTarget tableCREATE, SELECT, INSERT, UPDATE, DELETE, DROP, ALTERDROP is required only when tidb-lightning-ctl runs the checkpoint-destroy-all command
Target databaseCREATE
Mandatorytidb-backendinformation_schema.columnsSELECT
local-backendmysql.tidbSELECT
-SUPER
-RESTRICTED_VARIABLES_ADMIN,RESTRICTED_TABLES_ADMINRequired when the target TiDB enables SEM
RecommendedConflict detection, max-errorSchema configured for lightning.task-info-schema-nameSELECT, INSERT, UPDATE, DELETE, CREATE, DROPIf not required, the value must be set to ""
OptionalParallel importSchema configured for lightning.meta-schema-nameSELECT, INSERT, UPDATE, DELETE, CREATE, DROPIf not required, the value must be set to ""
Optionalcheckpoint.driver = “mysql”checkpoint.schema settingSELECT,INSERT,UPDATE,DELETE,CREATE,DROPRequired when checkpoint information is stored in databases, instead of files

Downstream storage space requirements

The target TiKV cluster must have enough disk space to store the imported data. In addition to the standard hardware requirements, the storage space of the target TiKV cluster must be larger than the size of the data source x the number of replicas x 2. For example, if the cluster uses 3 replicas by default, the target TiKV cluster must have a storage space larger than 6 times the size of the data source. The formula has x 2 because:

  • Indexes might take extra space.
  • RocksDB has a space amplification effect.

It is difficult to calculate the exact data volume exported by Dumpling from MySQL. However, you can estimate the data volume by using the following SQL statement to summarize the data-length field in the information_schema.tables table:

Calculate the size of all schemas, in MiB. Replace ${schema_name} with your schema name.

select table_schema,sum(data_length)/1024/1024 as data_length,sum(index_length)/1024/1024 as index_length,sum(data_length+index_length)/1024/1024 as sum from information_schema.tables where table_schema = "${schema_name}" group by table_schema;

Calculate the size of the largest table, in MiB. Replace ${schema_name} with your schema name.

select table_name,table_schema,sum(data_length)/1024/1024 as data_length,sum(index_length)/1024/1024 as index_length,sum(data_length+index_length)/1024/1024 as sum from information_schema.tables where table_schema = "${schema_name}" group by table_name,table_schema order by sum  desc limit 5;

Resource requirements

Operating system: The example in this document uses fresh CentOS 7 instances. You can deploy a virtual machine either on your local host or in the cloud. Because TiDB Lightning consumes as much CPU resources as needed by default, it is recommended that you deploy it on a dedicated server. If this is not possible, you can deploy it on a single server together with other TiDB components (for example, tikv-server) and then configure region-concurrency to limit the CPU usage from TiDB Lightning. Usually, you can configure the size to 75% of the logical CPU.

Memory and CPU:

The CPU and memory consumed by TiDB Lightning vary with the backend mode. Run TiDB Lightning in an environment that supports the optimal import performance based on the backend you use.

  • Local-backend: TiDB lightning consumes much CPU and memory in this mode. It is recommended that you allocate CPU higher than 32 cores and memory greater than 64 GiB.

Note:

When data to be imported is large, one parallel import may consume about 2 GiB memory. In this case, the total memory usage can be region-concurrency x 2 GiB. region-concurrency is the same as the number of logical CPUs. If the memory size (GiB) is less than twice of the CPU or OOM occurs during the import, you can decrease region-concurrency to address OOM.

  • TiDB-backend: In this mode, the performance bottleneck lies in TiDB. It is recommended that you allocate 4-core CPU and 8 GiB memory for TiDB Lightning. If the TiDB cluster does not reach the write threshold in an import, you can increase region-concurrency.
  • Importer-backend: In this mode, resource consumption is nearly the same as that in Local-backend. Importer-backend is not recommended and you are advised to use Local-backend if you have no particular requirements.

Storage space: The sorted-kv-dir configuration item specifies the temporary storage directory for the sorted key-value files. The directory must be empty, and the storage space must be greater than the size of the dataset to be imported. For better import performance, it is recommended to use a directory different from data-source-dir and use flash storage and exclusive I/O for the directory.

Was this page helpful?