文档目录

索引的选择

从存储层读取数据是 SQL 计算过程中最为耗时的部分之一,TiDB 目前支持从不同的存储和不同的索引中读取数据,索引选择得是否合理将很大程度上决定一个查询的运行速度。

本章节将介绍 TiDB 如何选择索引去读入数据,以及相关的一些控制索引选择的方式。

读表

在介绍索引的选择之前,首先要了解 TiDB 有哪些读表的方式,这些方式的触发条件是什么,不同方式有什么区别,各有什么优劣。

读表算子

读表算子触发条件适用场景说明
PointGet/BatchPointGet读表的范围是一个或多个单点范围任何场景如果能被触发,通常被认为是最快的算子,因为其直接调用 kvget 的接口进行计算,不走 coprocessor
TableReader任何场景从 TiKV 端直接扫描表数据,一般被认为是效率最低的算子,除非在 _tidb_rowid 这一列上存在范围查询,或者无其他可以选择的读表算子时,才会选择这个算子
TableReader表在 TiFlash 节点上存在副本需要读取的列比较少,但是需要计算的行很多TiFlash 是列式存储,如果需要对少量的列和大量的行进行计算,一般会选择这个算子
IndexReader表有一个或多个索引,且计算所需的列被包含在索引里存在较小的索引上的范围查询,或者对索引列有顺序需求的时候当存在多个索引的时候,会根据估算代价选择合理的索引
IndexLookupReader表有一个或多个索引,且计算所需的列不完全被包含在索引里同 IndexReader因为计算列不完全被包含在索引里,所以读完索引后需要回表,这里会比 IndexReader 多一些开销

注意:

TableReader 是基于 _tidb_rowid 的索引,TiFlash 是列存索引,所以索引的选择即是读表算子的选择。

索引的选择

TiDB 基于规则或基于代价来选择索引。基于的规则包括前置规则和 Skyline-Pruning。在选择索引时,TiDB 会先尝试前置规则。如果存在索引满足某一条前置规则,则直接选择该索引。否则,TiDB 会采用 Skyline-Pruning 来排除不合适的索引,然后基于每个读表算子的代价估算,选择代价最小的索引。

基于规则选择

前置规则

TiDB 采用如下的启发式前置规则来选择索引:

  • 规则 1:如果存在索引满足“唯一性索引全匹配 + 不需要回表(即该索引生成的计划是 IndexReader)”时,直接选择该索引。

  • 规则 2:如果存在索引满足“唯一性索引全匹配 + 需要回表(即该索引生成的计划是 IndexLookupReader)”时,选择满足该条件且回表行数最小的索引作为候选索引。

  • 规则 3:如果存在索引满足“普通索引不需要回表 + 读取行数小于一定阈值”时,选择满足该条件且读取行数最小的索引作为候选索引。

  • 规则 4:如果规则 2 和 3 之中仅选出一条候选索引,则选择该候选索引。如果规则 2 和 3 均选出候选索引,则选择读取行数(读索引行数 + 回表行数)较小的索引。

上述规则中的“索引全匹配”指每个索引列上均存在等值条件。在执行 EXPLAIN FORMAT = 'verbose' ... 语句时,如果前置规则匹配了某一索引,TiDB 会输出一条 NOTE 级别的 warning 提示该索引匹配了前置规则。

在以下示例中,因为索引 idx_b 满足规则 2 中“唯一性索引全匹配 + 需要回表”的条件,TiDB 选择索引 idx_b 作为访问路径,SHOW WARNING 返回了索引 idx_b 命中前置规则的提示。

mysql> CREATE TABLE t(a INT PRIMARY KEY, b INT, c INT, UNIQUE INDEX idx_b(b));
Query OK, 0 rows affected (0.01 sec)

mysql> EXPLAIN FORMAT = 'verbose' SELECT b, c FROM t WHERE b = 3 OR b = 6;
+-------------------+---------+---------+------+-------------------------+------------------------------+
| id                | estRows | estCost | task | access object           | operator info                |
+-------------------+---------+---------+------+-------------------------+------------------------------+
| Batch_Point_Get_5 | 2.00    | 8.80    | root | table:t, index:idx_b(b) | keep order:false, desc:false |
+-------------------+---------+---------+------+-------------------------+------------------------------+
1 row in set, 1 warning (0.00 sec)

mysql> SHOW WARNINGS;
+-------+------+-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------+
| Level | Code | Message                                                                                   |
+-------+------+-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------+
| Note  | 1105 | unique index idx_b of t is selected since the path only has point ranges with double scan |
+-------+------+-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------+
1 row in set (0.00 sec)

Skyline-Pruning

Skyline-Pruning 是一个针对索引的启发式过滤规则,能降低错误估算导致选错索引的概率。Skyline-Pruning 从以下三个维度衡量一个索引的优劣:

  • 索引的列涵盖了多少访问条件。“访问条件”指的是可以转化为某列范围的 where 条件,如果某个索引的列集合涵盖的访问条件越多,那么它在这个维度上更优。

  • 选择该索引读表时,是否需要回表(即该索引生成的计划是 IndexReader 还是 IndexLookupReader)。不用回表的索引在这个维度上优于需要回表的索引。如果均需要回表,则比较索引的列涵盖了多少过滤条件。过滤条件指的是可以根据索引判断的 where 条件。如果某个索引的列集合涵盖的访问条件越多,则回表数量越少,那么它在这个维度上越优。

  • 选择该索引是否能满足一定的顺序。因为索引的读取可以保证某些列集合的顺序,所以满足查询要求顺序的索引在这个维度上优于不满足的索引。

对于以上三种维度,如果索引 idx_a 在这三个维度上都不比 idx_b 差,且有一个维度比 idx_b 好,那么 TiDB 会优先选择 idx_a。在执行 EXPLAIN FORMAT = 'verbose' ... 语句时,如果 Skyline-Pruning 排除了某些索引,TiDB 会输出一条 NOTE 级别的 warning 提示哪些索引在 Skyline-Pruning 排除之后保留下来。

在以下示例中,索引 idx_bidx_e 均劣于 idx_b_c,因而被 Skyline-Pruning 排除,SHOW WARNING 的返回结果显示了经过 Skyline-Pruning 后剩余的索引。

mysql> CREATE TABLE t(a INT PRIMARY KEY, b INT, c INT, d INT, e INT, INDEX idx_b(b), INDEX idx_b_c(b, c), INDEX idx_e(e));
Query OK, 0 rows affected (0.01 sec)

mysql> EXPLAIN FORMAT = 'verbose' SELECT * FROM t WHERE b = 2 AND c > 4;
+-------------------------------+---------+---------+-----------+------------------------------+----------------------------------------------------+
| id                            | estRows | estCost | task      | access object                | operator info                                      |
+-------------------------------+---------+---------+-----------+------------------------------+----------------------------------------------------+
| IndexLookUp_10                | 33.33   | 738.29  | root      |                              |                                                    |
| ├─IndexRangeScan_8(Build)     | 33.33   | 2370.00 | cop[tikv] | table:t, index:idx_b_c(b, c) | range:(2 4,2 +inf], keep order:false, stats:pseudo |
| └─TableRowIDScan_9(Probe)     | 33.33   | 2370.00 | cop[tikv] | table:t                      | keep order:false, stats:pseudo                     |
+-------------------------------+---------+---------+-----------+------------------------------+----------------------------------------------------+
3 rows in set, 1 warning (0.00 sec)

mysql> SHOW WARNINGS;
+-------+------+------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------+
| Level | Code | Message                                                                                  |
+-------+------+------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------+
| Note  | 1105 | [t,idx_b_c] remain after pruning paths for t given Prop{SortItems: [], TaskTp: rootTask} |
+-------+------+------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------+
1 row in set (0.00 sec)

基于代价选择

在使用 Skyline-Pruning 规则排除了不合适的索引之后,索引的选择完全基于代价估算,读表的代价估算需要考虑以下几个方面:

  • 索引的每行数据在存储层的平均长度。
  • 索引生成的查询范围的行数量。
  • 索引的回表代价。
  • 索引查询时的范围数量。

根据这些因子和代价模型,优化器会选择一个代价最低的索引进行读表。

代价选择调优的常见问题

  1. 估算的行数量不准确?

    一般是统计信息过期或者准确度不够造成的,可以重新执行 analyze table 或者修改 analyze table 的参数。

  2. 统计信息准确,为什么读 TiFlash 更快,而优化器选择了 TiKV?

    目前区别 TiFlash 和 TiKV 的代价模型还比较粗糙,可以调小 tidb_opt_seek_factor 的值,让优化器倾向于选择 TiFlash。

  3. 统计信息准确,某个索引要回表,但是它比另一个不用回表的索引实际执行更快,为什么选择了不用回表的索引?

    碰到这种情况,可能是代价估算时对于回表的代价计算得过大,可以调小 tidb_opt_network_factor,降低回表的代价。

控制索引的选择

通过 Optimizer Hints 可以实现单条查询对索引选择的控制。

  • USE_INDEX/IGNORE_INDEX 可以强制优化器使用/不使用某些索引。

  • READ_FROM_STORAGE 可以强制优化器对于某些表选择 TiKV/TiFlash 的存储引擎进行查询。

Doc Menu

Index Selection

Reading data from storage engines is one of the most time-consuming steps during the SQL execution. Currently, TiDB supports reading data from different storage engines and different indexes. Query execution performance depends largely on whether you select a suitable index or not.

This document introduces how to select an index to access a table, and some related ways to control index selection.

Access tables

Before introducing index selection, it is important to understand the ways TiDB accesses tables, what triggers each way, what differences each way makes, and what the pros and cons are.

Operators for accessing tables

OperatorTrigger ConditionsApplicable ScenariosExplanations
PointGet / BatchPointGetWhen accessing tables in one or more single point ranges.Any scenarioIf triggered, it is usually considered as the fastest operator, since it calls the kvget interface directly to perform the calculations rather than calls the coprocessor interface.
TableReaderNoneAny scenarioIt is generally considered as the least efficient operator that scans table data directly from the TiKV layer. It can be selected only if there is a range query on the _tidb_rowid column, or if there are no other operators for accessing tables to choose from.
TableReaderA table has a replica on the TiFlash node.There are fewer columns to read, but many rows to evaluate.Tiflash is column-based storage. If you need to calculate a small number of columns and a large number of rows, it is recommended to choose this operator.
IndexReaderA table has one or more indexes, and the columns needed for the calculation are included in the indexes.When there is a smaller range query on the indexes, or when there is an order requirement for indexed columns.When multiple indexes exist, a reasonable index is selected based on the cost estimation.
IndexLookupReaderA table has one or more indexes, and the columns needed for calculation are not completely included in the indexes.Same as IndexReader.Since the index does not completely cover calculated columns, TiDB needs to retrieve rows from a table after reading indexes. There is an extra cost compared to the IndexReader operator.

Note:

The TableReader operator is based on the _tidb_rowid column index, and TiFlash uses a column storage index, so the selection of index is the selection of an operator for accessing tables.

Index selection rules

TiDB provides a heuristic rule named skyline-pruning based on the cost estimation of each operator for accessing tables. It can reduce the probability of wrong index selection caused by wrong estimation.

Skyline-pruning

Skyline-pruning is a heuristic filtering rule for indexes. To judge an index, the following three dimensions are needed:

  • Whether it needs to retrieve rows from a table when you select the index to access the table (that is, the plan generated by the index is IndexReader operator or IndexLookupReader operator). Indexes that do not retrieve rows from a table are better on this dimension than indexes that do.

  • Select whether the index satisfies a certain order. Because index reading can guarantee the order of certain column sets, indexes that satisfy the query order are superior to indexes that do not satisfy on this dimension.

  • How many access conditions are covered by the indexed columns. An “access condition” is a where condition that can be converted to a column range. And the more access conditions an indexed column set covers, the better it is in this dimension.

For these three dimensions, if an index named idx_a is not worse than the index named idx_b in all three dimensions and one of the dimensions is better than Idx_b, then idx_a is preferred.

Selection based on cost estimation

After using the skyline-pruning rule to rule out inappropriate indexes, the selection of indexes is based entirely on the cost estimation. The cost estimation of accessing tables requires the following considerations:

  • The average length of each row of the indexed data in the storage engine.
  • The number of rows in the query range generated by the index.
  • The cost for retrieving rows from a table.
  • The number of ranges generated by index during the query execution.

According to these factors and the cost model, the optimizer selects an index with the lowest cost to access the table.

Common tuning problems with cost estimation based selection

  1. The estimated number of rows is not accurate?

    This is usually due to stale or inaccurate statistics. You can re-execute the analyze table statement or modify the parameters of the analyze table statement.

  2. Statistics are accurate, and reading from TiFlash is faster, but why does the optimizer choose to read from TiKV?

    At present, the cost model of distinguishing TiFlash from TiKV is still rough. You can decrease the value of tidb_opt_seek_factor parameter, then the optimizer prefers to choose TiFlash.

  3. The statistics are accurate. Index A needs to retrieve rows from tables, but it actually executes faster than Index B that does not retrieve rows from tables. Why does the optimizer choose Index B?

    In this case, the cost estimation may be too large for retrieving rows from tables. You can decrease the value of tidb_opt_network_factor parameter to reduce the cost of retrieving rows from tables.

Control index selection

The index selection can be controlled by a single query through Optimizer Hints.

  • USE_INDEX / IGNORE_INDEX can force the optimizer to use / not use certain indexes.

  • READ_FROM_STORAGE can force the optimizer to choose the TiKV / TiFlash storage engine for certain tables to execute queries.